New Zealand vs India 2014: 3rd ODI – Thrilling encounter ends in a tie

Author : Ritabrata Banerjee
New Zealand vs India

New Zealand vs India

New Zealand and India shared honours in the third ODI of the ongoing series on Saturday. Ravindra Jadeja almost guided India to an emphatic win, but at the end the match ended as a tie. New Zealand lead 2-0 in the 5 match ODI series after 3 games.

India won the toss and elected to field first. New Zealand posted a mammoth 314 in 50 overs. Martin Guptill was among the peak of the Kiwi batsmen. He scored 111 of 129 balls. Kane Williamson supported him well by scoring 65 runs.

The Indian bowlers did not perform well. Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami took 2 wickets each, but they were expensive. Varun Aaron replaced Ishant Sharma in the team, but failed to make any impact.

While chasing, the Indian openers started well until Corey Anderson picked up Shikhar Dhawan‘s wicket. After that the Kiwi fast bowlers ransacked the Indian top order. Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored a half-century. But it was after Dhoni’s dismissal that India made a strong come-back. Ravichandran Ashwin scored 65 of 74 balls and Ravindra Jadeja scored 66 of 45 balls.

In the last over, India required 18 runs. Jadeja batted brilliantly. India required just 2 runs to win from the last ball, but they could manage to take just a single.

Corey Anderson was the best Kiwi bowler who completed his five-wicket haul.


New Zealand:

Martin Guptill c Rahane b Jadeja 111

Jesse Ryder b Kumar 20

Kane Williamson b Mohammed Shami 65

Corey Anderson b Ashwin 8

Ross Taylor run out (Rahane) 17

Brendon McCullum c Ashwin b Aaron 0

Luke Ronchi c Rahane b Jadeja 38

Nathan McCullum run out (Jadeja/Dhawan) 1

Tim Southee run out (Kohli/Dhoni) 27

Mitchell McClenaghan c Jadeja b Mohammed Shami 3

Hamish Bennett not out 3

Extras (lb 10, w 11) 21

Total (all out in 50 overs) 314

Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Ryder, 4.2 overs), 2-189 (Williamson, 32.5), 3-198 (Anderson, 33.5), 4-224 (Guptill, 37.2), 5-230 (BB McCullum, 38.5), 6-270 (Taylor, 42.4), 7-280 (NL McCullum, 43.5), 8-280 (Ronchi, 43.6), 9-288 (McClenaghan, 47.2), 10-314 (Southee, 49.6)


Bhuvneshwar Kumar 9-0-48-1

Mohammed Shami 10-0-84-2

Varun Aaron 7-0-52-1

Ravindra Jadeja 10-0-47-2

Ravichandran Ashwin 10-0-47-1

Suresh Raina 4-0-26-0


Rohit Sharma c Bennett b Anderson 39

Shikhar Dhawan c Guptill b Anderson 28

Virat Kohli c Ronchi b Bennett 6

Ajinkya Rahane c Ronchi b Anderson 3

Suresh Raina c Ronchi b Southee 31

Mahendra Singh Dhoni c Southee b Anderson 50

Ravichandran Ashwin c Guptill b NL McCullum 65

Ravindra Jadeja not out 66

Bhuvneshwar Kumar c NL McCullum b Bennett 4

Mohammed Shami c Williamson b Anderson 2

Varun Aaron not out 2

Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 14) 18

Total (for nine wickets in 50 overs) 314

Fall of wickets: 1-64 (Dhawan, 9.2 overs), 2-72 (Sharma, 13.1), 3-74 (Kohli, 14.5), 4-79 (Rahane, 17.4), 5-146 (Raina, 27.4), 6-184 (Dhoni, 35.4), 7-269 (Ashwin, 44.5), 8-275 (Kumar, 45.4), 9-286 (Mohammed Shami, 47.5)Bowling:

Tim Southee 10-0-74-1

Mitchell McClenaghan 10-0-76-0

Hamish Bennett 10-2-41-2

Corey Anderson 10-1-63-5

Kane Williamson 2-0-17-0

Nathan McCullum 8-0-39-1

Match details:

India chose to field

Series: New Zealand lead the 5-match series 2-0

Umpires: Billy Bowden and Rod Tucker

TV umpire: Derek Walker

Match referee: David Boon (Australia)