New York E-Prix: Frijns wins finale, Vergne retains title

Alex Kalinauckas

crashed out together on the final lap when they both needed to win. Techeetah also won the teams’ championship.

Vergne came into the last race, which was a significantly calmer affair compared to the first race on Saturday, with a 22-point lead over di Grassi. But he started down in P11, behind di Grassi and Evans – his only remaining title rivals.

After being involved in two pile ups in the first race, Vergne’s race was straightforward after he made a robust pass on around the outside of the Turn 6 90-degree left on the first lap.

From there he tracked di Grassi, was briefly passed by former title rival into Turn 6 and then looked set to finish there until the last lap crash between di Grassi and Evans.

Read Also:

Vergne hit with community service sentence for radio commentsBuemi needed 'one fewer problem' to be Formula E champion

That pair had not put Vergne’s title under serious threat throughout the race as they could only climb to fifth and sixth from eighth and 11th on the grid. Evans put under massive pressure for fourth in the closing laps but could not find a way by and was attacked by di Grassi coming out of the Turn 10 hairpin on the final lap.

The Jaguar driver appeared to come across the Audi as they race up the straight towards the 90-degree left of Turn 11, they collided as a result and went into the inside wall before ending up in the barriers at the outside of Turn 11.

Evans was able to reverse away and take the chequered flag, while di Grassi was stranded in the wall, but the former was handed a 10-second stop go penalty (converted into a time penalty) immediately after the finish and dropped to 17th in the final result.

Up front, Frijns came home a massive 3.2s clear after a dominant drive. He made a slow start to drop to third behind race one winner Buemi off the line, but pulled off two breathtaking passes into Turn 1 to move into the lead.

Frijns did so after a safety car period caused by as the rear of the field came through Turn 6, with Lopez then driving into Lotterer as the DS Techeetah squeezed by.

Lotterer retired a few laps later with suspension damage and was later given a pointless time penalty for causing the collision.

At the point of the safety car, the race was being led by polesitter Sims, who had made a perfect start from his maiden FE pole and successfully negotiated the early rounds of attack mode usage. Frijns made his first Turn 1 dive on lap 9 to depose Buemi for second and set about pursing Sims.

The Dutch driver was able to stay with Sims even when the BMW driver was in his second attack mode and on lap seven – when they were both in the standard 200kW mode – Frijns made a repeat dive at Turn 1. They made slight contact at the apex, with Sims forced a touch wide and Frijns shot through to take a lead he would never use.

Sims spent the rest of the race defending against Buemi – robustly at times, particularly at Turn 6 – and he held off the Nissan e.dams driver to seal second and take a first FE podium.  finished fourth as Virgin took third in the teams’ standings ahead of Nissan, with DS Techeetah’s first teams’ triumphed sealed by the late crash.

Abt took fifth ahead of rounding out the top 10 behind Vergne, who is now FE’s first double champion and the first driver to successfully defend a title. 

Buemi’s third place means he takes second in the final drivers’ standings.

Cla Driver Team Laps Time Gap Points
1 Netherlands Robin Frijns
Virgin Racing 36 47'22.289 25
2 United Kingdom Alexander Sims
Andretti Autosport 36 47'25.489 3.200 21
3 Switzerland Sébastien Buemi
Nissan e.dams 36 47'26.201 3.912 15
4 United Kingdom Sam Bird
Virgin Racing 36 47'26.559 4.270 12
5 Germany Daniel Abt
Team Abt 36 47'27.046 4.757 11
6 United Kingdom Oliver Rowland
Nissan e.dams 36 47'30.671 8.382 8
7 France Jean-Eric Vergne
Techeetah 36 47'31.735 9.446 6
8 Belgium Stoffel Vandoorne
HWA AG 36 47'32.027 9.738 4
9 Portugal Antonio Felix da Costa
Andretti Autosport 36 47'34.016 11.727 2
10 United Kingdom Gary Paffett
HWA AG 36 47'34.540 12.251 1
11 Belgium Jérôme d'Ambrosio
Mahindra Racing 36 47'41.233 18.944
12 United Kingdom Alex Lynn
Jaguar Racing 36 47'41.709 19.420
13 Germany Pascal Wehrlein
Mahindra Racing 36 47'49.433 27.144
14 United Kingdom Oliver Turvey
NIO Formula E Team 36 47'50.334 28.045
15 France Tom Dillmann
NIO Formula E Team 36 47'50.869 28.580
16 Brazil Felipe Massa
Venturi 36 47'50.924 28.635
17 New Zealand Mitch Evans
Jaguar Racing 36 48'27.298 1'05.009
18 Brazil Lucas di Grassi
Team Abt 35 46'15.642 1 Lap
19 Germany Maximilian Gunther
Dragon Racing 34 45'40.215 2 Laps
Switzerland Edoardo Mortara
Venturi 17 24'40.086 19 Laps
Germany Andre Lotterer
Techeetah 3 5'11.699 33 Laps
Argentina Jose Maria Lopez
Dragon Racing 2 2'46.153 34 Laps
View full results