Yogi Govt Renames Gorakhpur and Agra Airports

A roundup of the top headlines of the day.

Among the several major decisions taken in the third meeting of the Uttar Pradesh cabinet, that was held on Tuesday, the Yogi government changed the name of Gorakhpur and Agra Airports as well as the name of the department of welfare of the differently abled.

The Gorakhpur Airforce Station has been renamed as Mahayogi Goraknath Airport after the founder of the Nath monastic movement. Likewise, the Agra Airport will be renamed after RSS ideologue Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay airport.

The Department of Disabled Welfare will now be known as 'Divyang Jan Vikas Empowerment'.

The Yogi Government decided to name the Civil Terminal, named Mahayogi Gorakhnath, at Gorakhpur Air Force Base. The decision to change the name of Agra Airport to Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay was taken. Earlier it was reported that the Yogi government was planning on renaming the streets of Lucknow.

The cabinet also approved the decision to open 20 new agricultural centers. The crop insurance scheme also has gotten the cabinet's nod and it would be implemented in next two years.

(With inputs from PTI)