Who Won, Who Lost? All You Need to Know About State Elections 2017

The Modi 'tsunami' in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand secured landslide victories for the Bharatiya Janata Party. The Congress achieved a similar feat in Punjab – as well as emerged as the single largest party in Goa and Manipur, throwing up a hung Assembly. Here’s everything you need to know about who lost and who won in the five state Assembly elections 2017.

Lotus Blooms In Uttar Pradesh

Anchored by the Narendra Modi-Amit Shah duo, the BJP juggernaut rolled on in UP bagging three-fourth majority getting 311 seats. The elections turned into a virtual referendum on Modi's popularity – and demonetisation. The BJP decimated the ruling Samajwadi Party, its alliance partner Congress, and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party in the state.

(Photo: The Quint)

Congress Storms to Power in Punjab

Winning 77 of the 117 assembly seats, the Congress stormed back to power in Punjab riding a strong anti-incumbency wave against the ruling SAD-BJP combine and warding off a spirited challenge by newcomer AAP.

The SAD-BJP alliance finished at number three spot in the state polls, behind AAP, which emerged as the largest opposition party with 20 seats.

(Photo: The Quint)

Uttarakhand Chooses BJP

The BJP emerged victorious in the hilly state of Uttarakhand with the party winning 56 seats in the 70-member assembly. The incumbent Congress secured only 11 seats, though in terms of percentage, it got a respectable 33.5 percent of votes.

(Photo: The Quint)

A BJP-Congress Fight in Manipur

Manipur threw up a hung assembly with the ruling Congress bagging 28 of the 60 seats and the BJP making giant strides to muster 21.

Human rights activist Irom Sharmila, who contested against Chief Minister Ibobi Singh, could secure only 90 votes.

(Photo: The Quint)

A Hung Assembly in Goa

The BJP suffered reverses in Goa where its tally was reduced to 13 from 21 in the 40-member house as the poll results threw up a hung assembly. The Opposition Congress emerged as the single largest party with 17 seats.

(Photo: The Quint)

Read more on the State Assembly Election 2017 on The Quint:

Narendra Modi Regains His 2014 Mojo (Well, Almost)
BJP Sieges Gandhi Bastions of Amethi and Raebareli, Cong Routed
BSP’s Decline: Has Mayawati’s Social Engineering Strategy Failed?
Manipur Election Results: CM Ibobi Singh’s Gamble Didn’t Pay Off