WhatsApp is rolling out its Short Link feature to iPhones
WhatsApp is constantly working to upgrade its service and add new features to its platform. Last week reports suggested that the Facebook-owned social messaging platform was planning to add several features that would enable users to to spot fake news and fake images on its platform being shared by other users on its platform. The features, at the time see, to be available only for its Android users. And now, word is that WhatsApp is planning on adding a new feature to its platform. But this one is exclusively for its iOS users.
According to a report by WABetaInfo, which tracks developments on WhatsApp, the social messaging app is planning on adding a new Short Link feature on to its iOS platform that would enable businesses to share a short link with their customers. This short link can then be used by the customers to start a WhatsApp chat with the respective businesses.
Businesses can access the new Short Link feature in the Business Settings of the WhatsApp Business for iOS apps where they can configure a Default Message, including their WA.ME shortlinks. For those of you who are not sure, WhatsApp launched a service called WA.ME last year with WhatsApp beta for Android 2.18.138. This service allows users to quickly open a specific chat using a personal link or a short link. The report notes that this service has been updated to include a default message.
Notably, the new Short Link feature is available for WhatsApp Business beta program for iOS version 18.104.22.168 and it will be rolled out to the main app when the company is done testing the feature on the beta version of the app.
Interestingly, the Short Link feature is available on WhatsApp Business for Android and it's only now that the feature is coming to iOS.
Meanwhile, as noted earlier, WhatsApp is planning on adding a number of features on to its platform that would enable users check if a shared message has suspicious message. The company is planning to add a Frequently Forwarded' label to the messages that have been forwarded more than four times. On the other hand, its Forwarding Info feature would inform users how many times they have forwarded a message.