WhatsApp delete for everyone feature doesn't really delete your messages: 6 things to know

1 / 1

WhatsApp delete for everyone feature doesn't really delete your messages: 6 things to know

You can read a WhatsApp message even after the sender deletes it. Here's how.

WhatsApp introduced a feature that almost all of us have been waiting for a long time now. It is the "delete for everyone" feature. Befitting the name, this feature let users recall or in simple terms -- delete a message you sent your friend by mistake. We all must have -- oftentimes sent a WhatsApp message by mistake -- and the delete for everyone feature is a boon for such blunders. But then, now a new report claims that the delete for everyone feature doesn't really delete the a message. So what does it really do? What it actually does is, it saves the message in the notification log of the phone -- which then can be later retrived and read by the sender.

By now, you must have already used the delete for everyone feature. WhatsApp -- earlier this month -- rolled out the feature for all Android, iOS and Windows phones users. The feature is available for users with the latest version of the messaging application -- so if you still haven't received the features -- you need to head over to Google Play store and update WhatsApp. First let's talk about how the feature actually works, before we go on to explain the trick to read the deleted message.

  1. If you have sent a WhatsApp message by mistake to someone -- its time for you to rejoice. Before we go on to explain how the delete for everyone feature works, it is important to note that the message (that you had sent by mistake) should be deleted within 7 minutes from the time it's sent. Coming to how the feature actually works. After sending the message by mistake -- tap, hold and select the message, click on the delete bin icon which is situated at the top of the screen. Earlier, on clicking the icon the message would automatically delete -- but not anymore. With the new feature coming in, users will get three options by clicking the delete icon -- delete for me, cancel and delete for everyone. To delete the message from your as well as the receiver's chat box -- you need to select delete for everyone option. After deleting the message you and the receiver of the message will get this message -- "this message was deleted".
  2. According to WhatsApp, after deleting the message, the recipient will not be able to read the message. But then, with a new report coming in, it seems the even if you delete the message -- the sender can actually read it. To read the deleted message -- you need to download a third party application called the Notification History. This third party app is available for download on Google Play store.
  3. To read the deleted message, first, download the Notification History application available on Play store. Now, to see the message that was sent to you on WhatsApp, but was later deleted by the sender -- you need to open the third party application and head over to the Android notification log section -- which will be available on the top right side of the app -- to read the message. But then, yes you can actually read the deleted messages -- but there are some limitations.
  4. The catch is, Notification History app only works on Android phones. It reportedly doesn't allow you to read more than first 100 characters of the deleted message. In simple words, if your friend had sent you a message which consists of more than 100 characters -- well, you may not able to read the whole message and may get access only to the first chunck of it -- first 100 characters only. The app saves the deleted WhatsApp messages in its notification log, however, in case you restart your device -- you may lose track of these messages. It is said that on restarting the device, the notification log will be completely refreshed.
  5. The third party app aka Notification History works well only on devices running on Android 7.0 Nougat. It is also noteworthy that via this app, you will only be able to retrieve the deleted text messages and no media files -- be it images, videos or any other.
  6. There are other ways to get access to the deleted WhatsApp messages. Things may get easy if you are a user of third-party launchers like Nova Launcher on your phone. So if you have Nova launcher on your phone -- long press on the home screen, tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > and then head over to the Notification log section. If your device runs on stock Android then you can get access to the notification log from the Settings widget as well.

Also Read: WhatsApp delete for everyone doesn't actually delete your messages. Wait, what?