West Bengal bye-elections 2017: Results to be declared today; will BJP usurp Kanthi Dakshin seat from TMC?

Uddipta Das
Counting will take place after the polls and results of all 35 wards are expected to be declared on Sunday night. The elections were held amid heavy security.

Kolkata, April 13: The West Bengal bypolls result for Kanthi Dakshin constituency will be declared today, once counting of the votes commence from 8 am. The polling for this constituency was held on April 9 and it recorded an estimate of 80 percentage of voter turn out till 5 pm on the polling day. As per poll officials, the polling in Kanthi Dakshin constituency in east Midnapore district went peacefully, with voters turning up in large numbers in the polling booths spread across the constituency.

The spirit in the constituency of Kanthi Dakshin gives the impression that even though the contest for this constituency seat is between five parties, the major contenders are the Trinamool Congress (TMC), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Indian National Congress (INC) and the Communist Party of India (Marxist)-CPI(M).

The reason why bypoll was necessitated in Kanthi Dakshin constituency is that Trinamool Congress (TMC) Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) Dibyendu Adhikari was elected to the Lok Sabha from Tamluk seat and it left this seat vacant.

The five candidates contending this bypoll and today will be a decisive day for these five candidates. In the fray are Chandrima Bhattacharya of the Trinamool Congress (TMC), Sourindra Mohan Jana from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Uttam Pradhan of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)-CPI(M), Nabakumar Nandi of Indian National Congress (INC) and a candidate from Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist)-SUCI(C).

Press Trust of India quoted Amit Jyoti Bhattacharya, Deputy electoral officer , who said that the voter turn out on the polling day was approximately 82 % till 6 pm and the polling went peacefully. He further said that no untoward incident took place on that day, none were reported in or around the 258 polling booth spread around the constituency, and more than 2.5 lakh people exercised their right to vote on the polling day. He also said that strict security was maintained by six companies of central forces and they were accompanied by the state police as well.