Voter Turnout in By-elections: 82% polling in Andhra Pradesh’s Nandyal, 44% in Delhi’s Bawana News Desk
1 / 1

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017: First Phase of Voting For 89 Seats Today; Vijay Rupani, Shaktisinh Gohil in Fray

The Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017 will be held in two phases. The counting of votes will be done on December 18.

New Delhi, August 23: In the bypolls held on Wednesday in Nandayal, Andhra Pradesh and Bawana, Delhi, 82 per cent and 44 per cent voting was registered respectively. Voting in the polling booths went smoothly in both the states. While in Bawana a minor setback was faced due to a technical issue with a few electronic voting machines, later in the day the issue was fixed.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Delhi, Chandra Bhushan Kumar confirmed the figure. EVMs with paper trail machines, the Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT), are being used in all the 379 polling stations in Delhi and 255 polling stations in Andhra Pradesh. Over 2,500 police personnel were deployed to take care of the law and situation during the byelection to Nandyal Assembly seat in Kurnool district of Andhra Pradesh.

For the Delhi byelection, over 2.94 lakh electors are eligible to exercise their franchise in the by-election for the reserved assembly seat that falls in north-west Delhi area. Eight candidates are in the fray for the bypoll, necessitated due to AAP MLA Ved Parkash quitting the assembly to rejoin the BJP in March ahead of the municipal elections.

In Nandayal, the bypoll was necessitated following the death of sitting MLA Bhuma Nagi Reddy, who won the seat in 2014 as YSR Congress candidate but later switched over to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 2016. The TDP fielded Reddy’s nephew Brahmananda Reddy while the YSRC fielded former minister Silpa Chandra Mohan Reddy, who lost the seat as TDP nominee in 2014.

As per official figures, in Bawana, out of 379 polling stations in the constituency, 311 have less than 1,000 registered electors, while 68 have more than 1,000 registered electors.