Vijay Hazare Trophy: Jharkhand smash highest total in tournament history

Rajdeep Saha
·2-min read

20 Feb 2021: Vijay Hazare Trophy: Jharkhand smash highest total in tournament history

The Jharkhand cricket team scripted history in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Ishan Kishan's blistering 173-run knock helped Jharkhand post a total of 422/9 in the allotted fifty overs.

In reply, Madhya Pradesh were folded for a paltry 98 runs.

Jharkhand won the match by 324 runs to claim four points in Group B.

Here are the records broken.

List A: Jharkhand smash these records in List A cricket

As per ESPNcricinfo, Jharkhand now have the joint-second highest margin of victory in terms of runs in List A cricket (324).

They equaled the tally of Gloucestershire, who won by the same margin against Buckinghamshire in 2003.

Meanwhile, Jharkhand have also posted the second-highest total in List A cricket.

The highest total was registered by South Africa against India in 2015 (438/4).

Ishan Kishan: Ishan Kishan smashes these records

As per ESPNcricinfo, Ishan Kishan is now the third-highest scorer by keeper-captains in List A cricket.

The highest individual score by a keeper-captain is held by Morne van Wyk, who smashes, 175* in the match between Dolphins vs Knights, October 2014.

Ishan got to his 150 in only 86 balls, which is the second-fastest by an Indian in List A matches.

Records: Notable records scripted by Ishant Kishan

Ishan smashed a 94-ball 173 in an innings that was laced with 19 fours and 11 sixes.

He had a strike rate of 184.04.

This was Ishan's fourth century in List A cricket.

This is now his highest score in List A cricket as well.

The southpaw also surpassed the 2,500-run mark in List A cricket (2,507).

Match: How did the match pan out?

Batting first, Jharkhand lost Utkarsh Singh early on before Ishan shared two century-plus stands.

He got out as Jharkhand were reduced to 240/3.

The likes of Virat Singh, Sumit Kumar, and Anukul Roy smashed respective fifties to help them get past 400.

In reply, Varun Aaron's 6/37 thwarted MP as they folded for 98.

MP skipper Abhishek Bhandari scored 42.

Duo: Ishan equals this List A record, Aaron shines

Ishan also equaled the record of registering the most dismissals by an Indian keeper in a List A match (7) and became the fourth player to do so.

He took seven catches in the game.

Meanwhile, Aaron registered his best bowling figures in List A cricket.

He took his third five-wicket haul and breached the 100-wicket mark (104).