BJP MP Virendra Kumar sworn in as protem speaker of Lok Sabha

Former Union Minister and seven-time MP Virendra Kumar took oath as the protem speaker of the Lok Sabha on Monday. President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Vice President Venkaiah Naidu were also present during the ceremony. The first session of 17th Lok Sabha commenced today. On the first two days, the new MPs will take the oath, and election for the post of Speaker is scheduled to be held on June 19. President Kovind will address a joint session of Parliament on June 20.