Varun Chakravarthy earns maiden India call-up as selectors announce squads for tour of Australia

FirstCricket Staff
·2-min read

Varun Chakravarthy was rewarded for his solid performances in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL), earning a place in India's squad for the T20I leg of their upcoming tour of Australia.

The leg-spinner has been quite the revelation for the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the ongoing season, collecting 12 wickets at an average of 23.50 and an economy of 7.05, including a haul of 5/20 in the side's convincing victory over Delhi Capitals on Saturday.

The all India senior selection committee, which met via video conference on Monday to select the squads for the upcoming tour, also included young pacers Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kartik Tyagi, Ishan Porel and T Natarajan in the travel party, according to an official release from the BCCI. The pacers have all chipped in with noteworthy performances in the ongoing IPL, which had to be shifted to the UAE from India due to the COVID-19 crisis.

Opening batsman Rohit Sharma and seamer Ishant Sharma however, were not included in the squads and are currently under observation, added the release.

Both are nursing injuries at the moment, with Ishant getting ruled out of IPL 2020 after playing just one match due to a rib-cage injury. Rohit, on the other hand, has missed the last two matches for the Mumbai Indians, with Kieron Pollard leading the team in his stead.

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vc and wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy.

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vc and wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (c), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Mohammed. Siraj.

Also See: BCCI chief Sourav Ganguly says Australia-bound Indian players should be able to travel with family members

Sydney and Canberra could host India's limited-overs series against Australia, says report

IPL 2020: Nitish Rana's fifty, Varun Chakravarthy's five-for guide KKR to dominant win over DC

Read more on First Cricket News by Firstpost.