Final Uttarakhand result: BJP romps home as Congress exits

These are the people who won in the Uttarakhand assembly elections 2017.

Uttarakhand Assembly election saw BJP achieve a landslide victory, while leaving the incumbent Congress government completely decimated. India Today Axis poll and surveys by several media predicted an unprecedented victory for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). BJP has won 56 seats in the 70-seat assembly.

Analysts view the party's victory as an outcome of the anti-incumbency wave against the Congress government. Voter sentiment towards incumbent Chief Minister Harish Rawat has been negative. While BJP spokesperson for Uttarakhand was quick to say that Rawat's defeat was the rejection his leadership, Rawat on the other hand conceded defeat.

"I accept the defeat of Congress. My leadership may not have been up to the mark and resulted in the party's failure," said Chief Minister Harish Rawat.

After the announcement of the outcome, Rawat met the Uttarakhand Governor KK Paul and submitted his resignation. Both Congress and BJP were pinning hopes to make inroad into the Uttarakhand Assembly. However, the staggering numbers following the vote count on Saturday declared BJP the undisputed winner in the electoral race.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP party, just as in Uttar Pradesh, is yet to announce its chief ministerial candidate. Many political analysts see this as a key strategy to win the election on the popularity and mass appeal of PM Modi. PM Modi's demonetisation could not dent the image of the party among voters in the hill state.

Top contenders for the chief post include prominent BJP leaders like BC Khanduri, Vijay Bahuguna, Ramesh Pokhriyal, Bhagat Singh Koshyari and Ajay Bhatt.

BC Khanduri and Ajay Bhatt were believed to be the frontrunners in the race to become chief minister of Uttarakhand. While Ajay Bhatt failed to secure a seat, it is still not clear who will be BJP's chief ministerial candidate.


Mayawati-led Bahujan Samajwadi Party proved the axis poll predictions right as they were entirely decimated in the Uttarakhand Assembly election.

The Assembly election has been a crucial event with two key players BJP and Congress taking out strenuous campaigns in bid to make inroads into the Uttarakhand Assembly.

637 candidates including 56 women contested in 70 seats of the Uttarakhand Assembly.

Watch | Assembly Election results 2017: Shiv Aroor decodes BJP's unprecedented victory and impact of election

Also read:

BJP landslide in Uttarakhand, all eyes on who will be the next CM

Uttarakhand election 2017: Harish Rawat's defeat is the rejection of his leadership, says BJP