Unique records scripted in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 season

Rajdeep Saha
·3-min read

Unique records scripted in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 season
Unique records scripted in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 season

13 Mar 2021: Unique records scripted in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 season

The 2020-21 edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy has produced some sparkling cricket throughout the tournament.

From individual brilliance with bat and ball to teams stepping up and breaking records, it has been a fascinating ride.

Notably, Mumbai and Uttar Pradesh are set to meet in the final on March 14.

Here we present the unique records scripted in the 2020-21 season.

Mumbai: Mumbai shatter the records with score of 457/4 against Puducherry

Mumbai scored 457/4 against Puducherry in Round 3 of the Elite Group D encounter last month.

This is now the highest team total in Vijay Hazare Trophy.

They surpassed Jharkhand's total of 422/9 amassed earlier in the ongoing season.

Notably, Mumbai's score is also the fourth-highest total in List A cricket.

Totals: Three scores of 400-plus in the ongoing season

In a special record scripted this season, on three occasions we have witnessed teams scoring 400-plus runs in an innings.

Besides Mumbai's 457/4 and Jharkhand's 422/9, Madhya Pradesh also racked up 402/3 against Punjab on February 28.

Meanwhile, MP became the only side with two 400-plus totals in the competition's history.

They had earlier scored 412/6 versus Railways in February 2010.

Shaw: Prithvi Shaw has registered the most runs in an edition

Mumbai batsman Prithvi Shaw broke Mayank Agarwal's record of scoring the most runs in a single Vijay Hazare Trophy edition.

Shaw has managed to score 754 runs from seven matches so far and got past Agarwal's record who had registered 723 runs in the 2017-18 edition.

Notably, Shaw can become the first batsman to score 800-plus runs in a single edition.

Record: Shaw topples Dhoni and Kohli's record

In another unique record, Shaw broke MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli's tally of the highest individual score by an Indian batsman in a List A chase.

He achieved the feat when he hit 185* against Saurashtra.

Dhoni had smashed an unbeaten 183 against Sri Lanka in 2005.

Kohli had hit 183 to steer India to a six-wicket win over Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

Padikkal: Padikkal pastes his name in the record books

This season has seen Shaw and Devdutt Padikkal (737) score the highest and second-highest runs in a single edition respectively.

Padikkal pasted his name in the record books by becoming the first Indian batsman to record four consecutive centuries in List A cricket.

Notably, he hit seven fifty-plus scores in seven games in the 2020-21 edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Records: Other notable unique records smashed this season

Shaw's knock of 227* against Puducherry is the highest individual score in the competition.

Ishan Kishan's blistering 173-run knock for Jharkhand saw him smash several records.

He became the third-highest scorer by keeper-captains in List A cricket.

Ishan equaled the record of registering the most dismissals by an Indian keeper in a List A match (7) and became the fourth player to do so.