TRS continues lead in Nagarjuna Sagar bypoll

·1-min read

(EDS: updating with latest trends) Hyderabad, May 2 (PTI): The ruling TRS party candidate Nomula Bhagat continues to lead in the Nagarajuna Sagar bypoll held on April 17.

Bhagat is leading by 9,842 votes over his nearest Congress rival K Jana Reddy after the 15th round of vote- counting, according to official figures.

The bypoll for the constituency was necessitated due to the death of sitting TRS legislator Nomula Narsimhaiah in December last.

The BJP has put up P Ravi Kumar as its candidate.

The Congress candidate Jana Reddy had served as Leader of Opposition in the previous Legislative Assembly.

He lost from the same constituency in the 2018 Assembly polls. PTI GDK NVG NVG