Tripura goes to polls on Feb. 14, Nagaland and Meghalaya on Feb. 23

New Delhi, Jan 11 (ANI): The Election Commission of India on Friday announced dates for assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland.

Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath said the polls will be conducted in two phases.

Tripura will go to polls in the first phase on February 14, while polls in Meghalaya and Nagaland will be held in the second phase on February 23.

The votes will be counted in the three states on February 28.

In Meghalaya and Nagaland, nominations will have to be filed by February 6, the commission said.

The EC said that adequate security arrangement will be made in all three states and there will be special emphasis on expenditure control and paid news monitoring. (ANI)