Top 5 highest team totals in IPL History

Nilanjan Sen

Michael Hussey on his way to a century against KXIP in 2008.

Ever since its inception, the IPL has seen eighty-two 200+ scores recorded by teams. The first team to do so was the Kolkata Knight Riders in the very first IPL match against Royal Challengers Bangalore on 18th April 2008.

Chennai Super Kings holds the record for scoring 200 plus runs the most number of times. They have posted 200 plus scores 16 times closely followed by RCB who have achieved this feat 15 times.

The 2018 IPL saw the most number of 200 plus runs scored in an innings - 15, whereas the 2009 edition saw the least with only one 200 plus score posted by a team in the entire tournament.

On this note let us take a look at the top 5 highest team totals in IPL history.

#5. 240/5 by Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab in 2008

The second match of the inaugural edition of the IPL saw CSK facing KXIP. CSK had won the toss and had elected to bat first. By the 8th over Chennai had lost 3 wickets including that of Matthew Hayden & MS Dhoni and were at 62/3. But one man stood like a rock - Michael Hussey. His 64 runs partnership with Suresh Raina, 41 runs partnership with Jacob Oram and 73 runs partnership with S. Badrinath helped CSK reach a total of 240/5 for their allotted 20 overs. Hussey ended the innings unbeaten with 116 runs that included 9 sixes and 8 fours.

In reply, KXIP began with a 56 runs partnership between James Hopes and Karan Goel followed by a 55 runs partnership between Hopes and Kumar Sangakkara. But they could never really keep up with the asking rate and ended their innings at 207/4 at the end of 20 overs.

Michael Hussey for his century was named as the Player of the Match. CSK's 240/5 remained the highest team total in the 2008 IPL.

#4. 245/6 by Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab in 2018

Sunil Narine, the batsman, made waves in IPL 2018

It is the second time that KXIP find themselves at the receiving end in this list. The 44th League Match in the 2018 IPL saw KKR take on KXIP. KXIP won the toss and elected to field first. KKR began with a solid start with Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn who put on a 53 runs partnership for the first wicket. After a 75-run partnership with Robin Uthappa, Narine departed on the 12th over with KKR at 128/2. A useful 24 by Robin Uthappa and 31 by Andre Russell followed by a half-century by skipper Dinesh Karthik helped KKR reach 245/6.

KXIP, as seen in the previous case again, had a good start with a 57 runs partnership between KL Rahul and Chris Gayle. By the 12th over KXIP had lost half of their batting line-up with 112 runs on board. Though Aaron Finch (34 runs) and R. Ashwin (45 runs) did show some resiliency it was a bit late as KXIP ended their innings with 214/8.

Sunil Narine for his 75 runs with the bat and 1/44 with the ball was named as the Player of the Match. 245/6 by KKR was also the highest team total in IPL 2018.

#3. 246/5 by Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals in 2010

It was the Murali Vijay show against Rajasthan Royals in 2010.

The 32nd match in IPL 2010 was played between CSK and RR. The toss was won by Chennai who had elected to bat first. Chennai again got off to a great start with a 62-run partnership between Murali Vijay & Matthew Hayden who was out after scoring 34. The next wicket to fall was that of Suresh Raina out for 13.

What happened next was undoubtedly the key highlight of the match - a 152 runs partnership between Murali Vijay & Albie Morkel. Morkel was dismissed when he was on 62. Murali Vijay, who had faced almost half of the deliveries of the innings scored 127. His innings included 8 fours and a massive 11 sixes. The partnership between Murali Vijay & Morkel was instrumental in CSK reaching 246/5.

Rajasthan Royals in reply did have a few good performances including 94* by Naman Ojha, 60 by Shane Watson and 37 by Michael Lumb. But the other batsmen did not deliver, as a result, Rajasthan could only manage 223/5 at the end of 20 overs.

Murali Vijay deservedly was awarded the Player of the Match Trophy. His 127 was the highest individual score in IPL 2010. CSK's innings was the highest team total of the 2010 tournament.

#2. 248/3 by Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions in 2016

Virat Kohli & AB de Villiers created a record 2nd wicket partnership against Gujarat Lions in 2016.

The 44th league match of 2016 IPL between RCB and Gujarat Lions will be remembered for one thing only - the record 2nd wicket partnership of 229 runs between Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers. Put into bat first by Gujarat Lions, RCB lost Chris Gayle (6 runs) with just 19 runs on the board.

In came de Villiers to give Kohli company in the middle and what happened next was probably one of the greatest batting performance by two of the greats of the game. Both Kohli and de Villiers scored centuries - 109 and 129* respectively. Combined, the batsmen hit 15 fours (Kohli - 5 and de Villiers 10) and 20 sixes (Kohli - 8 and de Villiers 12). At the end of 20 overs, RCB had managed to score 248/3.

In reply, Gujarat Lions were all out for 104 with Aaron Finch top scoring with 37. Chris Jordan was the pick of the RCB bowlers with figures of 4/11.

AB de Villiers was named as the Player of the Match. His 129* was the highest individual score of IPL 2016. RCB's performance with the bat was the highest team total of IPL 2016 as well as the 2nd highest team total in the history of the IPL.

#1. 263/5 by Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Pune Warriors in 2013

Chris Gayle created two records against Pune Warriors in 2013.

The 31st league match of IPL 2013 between RCB and Pune Warriors can also be termed as Chris Gayle vs Pune Warriors. Put into bat first by Pune, RCB began their innings with a first wicket partnership of 167 runs between Chris Gayle & T Dilshan. Out of these 167 runs, 127 were made by Gayle who was playing at a different level that day.

He scored 175 runs, which is, till date, the highest individual score in the history of IPL. Enroute to his 175, he hit 13 fours and 17 sixes. His 17 sixes created another record in the IPL, that of most number of sixes hit by a player in an innings. Apart from this knock, useful 30s by Dilshan & AB de Villiers helped in creating another IPL record - the highest team total in the history of IPL 263/5.

There is nothing much to write about Pune's reply as they were bundled out for 133 runs. No prizes for guessing who was awarded the Player of the Match trophy - Chris Gayle.