Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha Constituency in Kerala Live Results 2019: Leading Candidates From The Seat, 2014 Winning MP And More

Nithya Nair

The results of the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Parliamentary seat in Kerala at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Trivandrum seat in the third phase of seven-phased Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 73.38 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha seat in Kerala.  Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates.

Also Read | Wardha Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra Live Results 2019: Leading Candidates From The Seat, 2014 Winning MP And More

Thiruvananthapuram is the capital of the Indian state of Kerala. Formerly known as Trivandrum, it is located in the southernmost tip of the state. It is a major IT hub in Kerala and is also known for low coastal hills. Thiruvananthapuram's constituency number is 2. It is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala. The state will vote in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 on April 23. Thiruvananthapuram includes the Assembly constituencies of Kazhakkoottam, Vattiyoorkavu (SC), Thiruvananthapuram, Nemom, Parassala, Kovalam and Neyyattinkara. Assembly Elections 2019 Results Live News Updates.

Thiruvananthapuram will witness a three-sided battle for power between three heavyweights. Congress' Shashi Tharoor who is serving as Thiruvananthapuram MP since 2009 will be contesting the elections from the same seat. BJP candidate Kummanam Rajasekharan, ex-Governor of Mizoram is Tharoor's opponent in the region. He was Kerala BJP president from 2015 to 2018. C Divakaran who was the minister of Food Supplies from 2006 to 2011 in the VS Achuthanandan government is contesting on CPM's ticket in the region. He is the sitting MLA of Nedumangad seat. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Also Read | Assam General Election Results 2019 Live News Updates: BJP Ahead in 7 Seats, Congress 4, Others 1, As Per Early Trends

In 2014 parliamentary elections, Tharoor won with a small margin of around 15,000 votes defeating BJP's then Lok Sabha candidate, O Rajagopal. Two years later, O Rajagopal became BJP's first member of legislative assembly in Kerala to be elected from Thiruvananthapuram's Nemom.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Thiruvananthapuram Constituency:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification March 28
Last date for filing nomination April 4
Scrutiny of nomination April 5
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 8
Date Of Poll April 23
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video):

The Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be held between April 11 and May 19. Of the seven phases, Kerala will vote during the third phase on April 23. The polling is scheduled to happen in 115 Lok Sabha constituencies of 14 states during the third phase. The counting of votes will be held and results will be declared on May 23.