Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL 2017, Match 37 Preview: KKR-SRH face-off in exciting tie

Abhishek Nandwani
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL 2017, Match 37 Preview: A mouthwatering contest is on the cards.

A mouthwatering contest is on the cards when table toppers Kolkata Knight Riders clash with defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad in a second phase league match of the Indian Premier League on Sunday.

Leading the points table with 14 points from nine matches, KKR have been in sublime form. On the other hand – SRH are currently on the third spot with 11 points from nine matches. They have five wins and a draw under their belt in comparison to Kolakta’s seven wins.

KKR captain Gautam Gambhir holds the Orange Cap, Sunil Narine, who is now a dependable opener for them, is at the top in the race for ‘Most Valuable Player’ and Robin Uthappa has hit the ‘Most Sixes’ in this edition of the IPL.

KKR are coming in this match after a thumping win against Delhi Daredevils as they won the match by seven wickets with 22 balls to spare. Displaying some exemplary team work, KKR’s Nathan Coulter-Nile scalped three wickets to break the back of Delhi while Gambhir and Uthappa followed it up in the run chase by slamming fifties to seal the match in their favour.

Kolkata won the previous tie against SRH and would be hoping to do the double and judging by the form they are in – it will be a little surprise if they can outclass the defending champions.

SRH batsmen had failed to click in their chase of 173-run target in that match. However, SRH have shown much improvement since then with captain David Warner, opener Shikhar Dhawan and the experienced Kane Williamson having been in destructive form.

However, Yuvraj Singh has not been in the best of his form, he can turn things around on his day. Moises Henriques, wicket-keeper-batsman Naman Ojha and Deepak Hooda can be handy in the middle order.

When it comes to bowling, Hyderabad has one of the best bowling line-up. Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar continues to hold the Purple Cap, spin sensation from Afghanistan Rashid Khan, seasoned Ashish Nehra and Siddarth Kaul have been among wickets.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Tanmay Agarwal, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Ben Cutting, Eklavya Dwivedi, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Siddharth Kaul, Ben Laughlin, Abhimanyu Mithun, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammed Siraj, Mustafizur Rahman, Rashid Khan, Vijay Shankar, Barinder Sran, Pravin Tambe.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Darren Bravo, Yusuf Pathan, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), Umesh Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Trent Boult, Piyush Chawla, Nathan Coulter Nile, Colin De Grandhomme, Rishi Dhawan, Sayan Ghosh, Shaikb Al Hasan, Sheldon Jackson, Ishank Jaggi, Kuldeep Yadav, Chris Woakes, Chris Lynn, Manish Pandey.