Sunderland penalty gifts Cornejo maiden stage win

David Gruz

Sunderland narrowly beat Jose Ignacio Cornejo by just 11 seconds after a strong end to the stage, having made up more than two minutes after the last checkpoint.

But the 2017 champion was found to have gone faster than allowed in a speed limit zone, which is a part of the route where competitors can't go faster than 30km/h.

Sunderland was handed a five-minute penalty, which dropped him to eighth in the order.

Cornejo inherited the top position as a result, the Chilean celebrating his maiden stage victory in his fourth year contesting the marathon.

Kevin Benavides completed a Honda 1-2 in the classification, while erstwhile stage winner Ross Branch (KTM) moved up to third.

In the overall order, Sunderland's penalty has cost him one position as he fell behind Husqvarna's Pablo Quintanilla to sixth place.

Cornejo's win is the second stage victory for Honda, which currently locks out the top three in the overall classification.

Franco Caimi, Yamaha's main rider following Xavier de Soultrait's retirement, was also given a five-minute penalty and dropped from fifth to 11th on the day.

Amended standings after Stage 4 (Bikes, top 10):

Pos. Rider Bike Time/Gap

United States Ricky Brabec

Honda 15h06m43s

Argentina Kevin Benavides

Honda 2m30s

Chile Jose Ignacio Cornejo

Honda 8m31s

Australia Toby Price

KTM 12m09s
5 Chile Pablo Quintanilla Husqvarna 17m52s

United Kingdom Sam Sunderland

KTM 19m11s

Spain Joan Barreda

Honda 25m20s

Argentina Luciano Benavides

KTM 26m30s
9 Austria Matthias Walkner KTM 27m03s
10 United States Skyler Howes Husqvarna 34m28s
Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting.