State Bank of India Changes Names, IFSC Codes of Nearly 1,300 Branches News Desk
1 / 1

Delhi High Court Dismisses Plea by Applicants Alleging Irregularity in SBI PO Exam

The petitioners had said that the bank had given jobs to less deserving candidates by changing the minimum criteria for selection. The petitioners said that the bank had changed its criteria from what it had advertised before the examinations. They said that individual cut-offs were disregarded while selecting candidates.

Mumbai, Dec 10: The State Bank of India (SBI) has changed names and Indian Financial System Code (IFSC) codes of nearly 1,300 of its branches located in major cities such as Mumbai, New Delhi, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Lucknow, among others. The move comes post the merger of SBI’s five associates.

“Some of our old associate branches are getting merged with SBI branches. When that merger happens, the IFSC codes get changed,” the bank’s managing director (retail and digital banking), Praveen Gupta, said. He said customers have been informed about the change in IFSC codes, but internally also the bank has mapped them to the new codes. “Even if some payment comes based on the old IFSC codes, it will get mapped with the new codes. It will not cause any problem to any customer,” he said.

The bank has put up the list of branches with old and new names and IFSC codes on its website.

IFSC, is an 11-digit alpha-numeric code used to uniquely identify all bank branches participating in any Reserve Bank of India regulated funds transfer system. It is required to transfer money from one account to another using RTGS, NEFT or IMPS methods.

In April this year, SBI merged its five associate banks—State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Travancore, State Bank of Hyderabad, State Bank of Mysore—and also Bhartiya Mahila Bank into itself.

(Inputs from PTI)