Starc Rested, Faulkner Returns for Australia’s ODI and T20 Tour of India Sports Desk
1 / 1

India vs Australia: Skipper Steven Smith Accused of Bias Selection by Former Aussie speedster Rodney Hogg

The disappointing show in Indore saw Australia hitting their lowest ebb in ODI history, making it six ODI defeats in a row and 11 on the trot overseas.

New Delhi: Cricket Australia on Friday announced the ODI and T20I squad for the India tour and recalled fast bowlers James Faulkner and Nathan Coulter-Nile. The tour is scheduled from September 17 and October 13.

Australia’s National Selection Panel named a 14-player one day international and 13-player T20 international squad, respectively. Faulkner, who was the Man of the Match in the 2015 World Cup final, has made a comeback while the selectors rested injured pacer Mitchell Starc.

All-rounder Moises Henriques has also been left out, while Chris Lynn, John Hastings and James Pattinson will miss the tour due to injury concerns. Also Read: India vs Sri Lanka: Kohli, Dhoni Arrive in Style For ODIs 

Coulter-Nile, who has been plagued by serious injuries in recent years, will get a chance to showcase his talent once again as he put up an impressive show in the Indian Premier League earlier this year. Newcomer to the short format, allrounder Hilton Cartwright has also been added to the squad.

Speaking on the selection of the squad, selector Trevor Hohns said: “We believe the panel has selected a strong squad to face the tough Indian conditions, it has the right mix of pace and spin.

“Nathan brings raw pace to the side with good variation. It is great to see him back from injury and we are hopeful he will have a big impact in this series.

“It is great to see him back from injury and we are hopeful he will have a big impact in this series. James Faulkner is a solid one-day campaigner and is very familiar with subcontinent conditions, coming off a very good tour of Sri Lanka last year. We hope that he will take his chance in returning to the one-day side.

“Hilton is an aggressive striker of the ball and we think his game will be well suited to short-form cricket.”


ODIs: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

T20I: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa