Sonbarsha Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Ratnesh Sada of JD(U) Retains Seat

Team Latestly
·2-min read

Sonbarsha Vidhan Sabha seat is situated in the Saharsa district of Bihar. The Sonbarsha Assembly constituency falls under the Madhepura Lok Sabha seat. The seat is reserved for Scheduled Caste. About 1,207 candidates contested in the third and final phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Ratnesh Sada of JD(U) won on this seat with 67,678 votes. Out of the total 243 Seats, NDA won absolute majority with 125 seats and Mahagatbandhan got 111 seats. Voting for the Sonbarsha election took place on November 7 in the third phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Counting of votes for the Bihar polls took place on November 10.

Also Read | Nautan Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: BJP Candidate Narayan Prasad Retains Constituency

Bihar went to polls in three phases. Phase 3 voting was held on November 7 in 78 Assembly constituencies spread across 15 districts. Here is the complete schedule of Phase 3 of Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 2 Dates And Schedule: Voting on November 3, Results to be Announced on November 10.

Bihar Elections 2020: Phase 3 Schedule:

Also Read | Saharsa Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Alok Ranjan of BJP Wins

Last Date For Filing Nomination

October 20

Scrutiny of Nominations

October 21

Last date for Nomination Withdrawal

October 23

Voting Date

November 7

Result Date

November 10

RJD fielded 46 candidates for phase 3 of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020, while BJP fielded 35 candidates and JD(U) gave ticket to 37 candidates. The candidates for Sonbarsha Assembly Election 2020 included Ratnesh Sada from JD(U), who fought against Sarita Devi of LJP and Tarni Rishideo from Congress among other candidates. NCP also fielded its candidate Pawan Paswan for this seat. The winner of Bihar Assembly Election 2015 was JDU's Ratnesh Sada, who defeated LJP candidate Sarita Devi by a margin of over 53,000 votes.

Voting for first phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 was held on October 28 and second phase was held on November 3. Elections in the state were the first major polls amid COVID-19 pandemic. While most were looking at it as a two-way fight between the NDA, comprising of Nitish Kumar's JD(U) and BJP, and the Mahagathbandhan consisting of Tejashwi Yadav's RJD, Congress and Left, the LJP this time decided to go alone with Chirag Paswan at the helm of affairs in the party. It was also a test for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.