Sixth Day of Navratri - Worshipping Goddess Katyayani

Sixth Day of Navratri - Worshipping Goddess Katyayani

Today, we have reached the sixth day of seeking blessings and worshipping Goddess Durga's various forms. On the sixth day of Navratri, Goddess Katyayini is worshipped. As per Hindu mythology, Goddess Parvati took the form of Goddess Katyayini to kill the demon Mahishasura. Katyayini appears as a warrior Goddess. She took birth as daughter of Sage Katyayan and that is why she is known as Katyayini. She is represented by four arms. Her upper left hand has a sword and her lower left hand represents lotus. It is believed that while worshipping the Goddess, her devotees feel 'Agya Chakra' which shows them the path to sacrifice everything for her and she fulfills the wishes of her worshippers. Praying to Goddess Katyayini helps in improving one’s marital life and provides relief to her devotees from all the troubles in their life. 

According to Hindu mythology, sage Katyayana performed penance to get Goddess Durga as his daughter. Goddess Durga accepted his request and was born in the ashram of Katyayana. Meanwhile, Mahishasur’s army reached heaven to overthrow the Gods and that is when the deities, Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesha requested Goddess Durga to end the torment of Mahishasur. Sage Katyayana was the first one who got the privilege to worship her, hence the name Katyayani. It is believed that the Goddess took birth on Krishna Chaturdashi and Katyayana worshipped her on Shukla Saptami, Ashtami and Navmi. On the tenth day, she killed Mahishasur. 

Expert Vedic astrologers at astroYogi could guide you on how to perform Navratri Poojas based on a detailed horoscope analysis.

Consult them online now!

Puja procedure 

Worship the kalash and the Gods residing in it, afterwards pray to Goddess Katyayini and chant mantras with flowers in your hands. After her worship, Lord Brahma and Vishnu are also worshipped. 


Vande Vanchit Manortharth Chandrardhkrit Shekharam

Sinharuda Chaturbhuja Katyayini Yashaswanim

Swarnaagya Chakra Stithtan Shashtam Durga Trinetram

Varabheet Karaan Shagpaddharan Katyayansutan Bhajami

Patambar Paridhanan Smermukhi Nanalankar Bhooshitam 

Manjeer Haar Keyoor, Kinkini, Ratnakundal Manditam

Prasannvadna Ptrawadharan Kantakpola Tung Kucham

Kamniya Lavanyan Trivalivibhushit Nimn Nabhim.  

Stotra Path 

Kanchanabha Varabhayan Padyadhara Muktojjwalan

Smermukhi Shivpatni Katyayanesute Namostute 

Patambar Paridhanan Nanalankar Bhooshitam 

Sinhasthita Padamhastan Katyayanesute Namostute 

Parmavdamyi Devi Parbrahma Parmatma 

Paramshakti, Parambhakti, Katyayanesutenamostute.