Shiv Sena will quit BJP alliance in a year, form own govt: Aditya Thackeray

1 / 1

Shiv Sena will quit BJP alliance in a year, form own govt: Aditya Thackeray

The Shiv Sena scion revives the threat on a day the party secured majority in Thane Zilla Parishad.

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray's son Aditya today said that the party will quit the power in Maharashtra in a year's time. He also hoped that Shiv Sena will form the next government by its own. The Shiv Sena became part of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in Maharashtra in December 2014.

Aditya made the statement while addressing the party workers in Maharashtra's Ahmednagar. "We will quit the power in one year and come back to power on our strength," he said. However, he added that the final decision in this regard will be taken by Uddhav only. "Once it is done all of you have to work together to bring about a change."

Though there is nothing new in Shiv Sena's threat of quitting from the government, Aditya's statement is likely to add fire to the fuel in Shiv Sena's strained relations with the BJP. Earlier, Thackeray too had warned that the party will quit the government as it was not happy with its performance. However, he had not given any timeline for that.

Aditya's threat will not have any impact on the government's stability as the Assembly elections are due in October 2019. There is possibility that the BJP will prepone the election in May 2019 along with the Lok Sabha elections.

Taking a dig at the BJP, Aditya said issues pertaining to education persist in the state and added that wherever he went, students came to him with a charter of demands. "Shiv Sena is committed to solving the issues of students. It has also created an educational application that will guide students and solve their problems."

Meanwhile, the Shiv Sena has secured majority in the Thane Zilla Parishad on the outskirts of Mumbai. In the election results announced today, Shiv Sena snatched the power from Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by winning 29 out of 51 seats. Interestingly, BJP MP from Bhiwandi Kapil Patil controlled the zilla parishad till a couple of years ago when he defected NCP to join BJP in 2014.

WATCH | War of words between BJP and Shiv Sena at Aaj Tak Manthan Conclave