Ranji Trophy 2018-19: Seven teams join Rajasthan for quarterfinals after final round

The next round of the tournament will commence on 15th January. (Representational Image)

With Thursday's exciting action, the league stage of Ranji Trophy 2018-19 edition came to an end. Eight teams made their way to the quarterfinals- Vidarbha, Saurashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand. The next round of the tournament will commence on 15th January. Here is the line-up for the quarterfinals-

  • Vidarbha vs Team Uttarakhand
  • Saurashtra vs Uttar Pradesh
  • Kerala vs Gujarat
  • Karnataka vs Team Rajasthan

Karnataka will play Ranji Trophy quarterfinals against Rajasthan at the M Chinnaswamy stadium on January 15. The other venues are yet to be been announced and it's home and away format.

The only team which had already booked a spot before the last league round was Rajasthan. Kerala made it through to quarterfinals for the second year in a row in a thrilling tie against Himachal Pradesh. Kerala chased a 295-run target on the last day of the league stage.

Saurashtra will get a massive boost when they square-off against Uttar Pradesh as Cheteshwar Pujara returns to the fold.

Meanwhile, Bengal salvaged a draw against Punjab in their Group B encounter ending Punjab’s hope of making it to the next round.

This year, five teams were supposed to qualify for quarter-finals from the first two groups (A and B) as per the points earned while two from group C and one from group D will join them for last eight stage.

In a bizarre situation, Vidarbha (29), Saurashtra (29), Karnataka (27), Gujarat (26) qualified from group A while Kerala (26) with more outright wins (4) than Baroda (26 points, 3 wins) have qualified from group B.

Bengal mentor Arun Lal and Punjab skipper Mandeep Singh both termed the format flawed.

Bengal finished with 23 points and were third in group B and as per old format would have qualified. (With inputs from PTI)