Ramnath Goenka Awards Highlights: President Kovind presents RNG awards, says fake news has emerged as a new menace

FE Online
Ramnath Goenka Awards LIVE Updates:

Ramnath Goenka Awards 2020: Indian media’s most-coveted award - the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards - were presented to the awardees by the President of India Ram Nath Kovind in New Delhi on Monday. Speaking at the event President Kovind said that fake news has emerged a new menace, whose purveyors proclaim themselves as journalists and taint this noble profession. "The fundamental principle of restraint and responsibility has been undermined substantially in the din of the ‘breaking news’ syndrome that has consumed the media now," President added.

A recognition of journalism that is defined by fairness and accuracy, The Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards gain even more prominence in the present times when the news space is polarised and the distinction of fact from fake news gets more difficult by the day.

This year’s recipients of the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards constitute works from the year 2018, in categories ranging from political reportage, business and economics, civic journalism, environment, science and technology, and journalism from areas of conflict regional-language reporting. The awardees received prize money of Rs 1 lakh each.

Instituted in 2006, the Awards honour journalists from print, broadcast and digital media recognising their strength of character and integrity while covering news in adverse circumstances.

The eminent jurors for this year’s Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards were Tom Goldstein, Professor and Dean, Jindal School of Journalism & Communication, O P Jindal Global University; S Y Quraishi, former Chief Election Commissioner; Pamela Philipose, journalist and Senior Fellow at the Indian Council of Social Science Research; and Justice B N Srikrishna, former Supreme Court judge.

Catch the live updates of the prestigious awards ceremony as the most important event in the India’s media calendar unfolds: