Rajauli Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Prakash Veer of RJD Wins Against BJP's Kanhaiya Kumar

Team Latestly
·2-min read

Rajauli, one of the seats that was contested in first phase of Bihar assembly elections 2020, was reserved for candidates from the Scheduled Caste (SC) community. The vidhan sabha segment is located in Nawada district of the eastern state. The Election Commission declared the results, with RJD's Prakash Veer winning against BJP's Kanhaiya Kumar by a margin of around 12,000 votes. Bihar Election Results 2020: NDA Wins Another Term With 125 Seats.

Also Read | Wazirganj Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: BJP's Birendra Singh Declared Winner by EC

Rajauli primarily witnessed an electoral contest between the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The seat was among the 71 constituencies that went to polls in the first phase of elections in Bihar, scheduled on October 28. In the 2015 elections, the constituency was bagged by Prakash Veer of the Lalu Prasad Yadav-led party. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 1 Dates And Schedule: Voting on October 28, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 1 Elections

Also Read | Atri Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: RJD's Ajay Yadav Declared Winner by EC

Last Date For Filing Nomination

October 8

Scrutiny of Nominations

October 9

Last date for Nomination Withdrawal

October 12

Voting Date

October 28

Result Date

November 10

From the Mahagathbandhan, the Rajauli seat was allotted to the RJD, whose sitting MLA Prakash Veer been renominated. The rival NDA camp allowed BJP to contest from the seat. The latter has fielded Kanhaiya Kumar, who won the seat in 2010.

The elections in Bihar was the first major electoral battle after the outbreak of COVID-19. The pre-poll surveys had given the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA camp, despite stating the possibility of an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.