Rajasthan: Congress sweeps local body polls, Gehlot calls it mandate on govt performance

Rajasthan Local Body Election Results 2019: Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot at an event. Gehlot said the results were a mandate on the performance of the government. (File)

Rajasthan Local Body Election Results 2019: Coming on the back of its recent bypoll win in the Mandawa assembly seat, Congress Tuesday registered an impressive victory in 23 of the 49 urban civic bodies in Rajasthan, where elections were held last week to elect more than 2,000 councillors. Meanwhile, BJP secured a win in six urban civic bodies and others in 20 seats.

As per the final state election department data, out of 2,105 ward councillors in all 49 municipal bodies, 961 candidates of Congress have won, followed by 737 of the BJP, 16 of the BSP and 3 of the CPI(M). As many as 386 Independent candidates have also emerged winners. Here are the highlights

While Congress has triumphed in Jaisalmer, Barmer, Hanumangarh, Sirohi and Banswara, BJP has most of the local body seats in Sri Ganga Nagar, Alwar and Pushkar.

The results come as a shot in the arm for the year-old Ashok Gehlot-led Congress government following its poor show in the Lok Sabha elections, where the BJP-led NDA swept the state by winning all 25 seats.

Reacting to the results, Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot it was a mandate on the performance of the government.

"The results of the local bodies seem to be coming as per expectations and hopes. It is a matter of happiness that people have given mandate considering the performance of the government," Gehlot told reporters.

"I would like to say it to the people that they should relax...We would not leave any stone unturned to do people's work," the chief minister further said.

Forty-nine urban local bodies in 24 out of Rajasthan's 33 districts went to the polls on Saturday. These included three municipal corporations, 18 nagar parishads and 28 nagar palikas.

A total of 71.53 per cent voters had exercised their franchise in the election. The election for the post of chairman and deputy chairman in the local bodies will be held next Tuesday and Wednesday.