Punjab Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Phase 7 Voting Underway in Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Patiala And 9 Other Parliamentary Constituencies; 55.72% Voter Turnout Recorded Till 5 pm

Team Latestly
The voting for the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019, has begun at 7 am in Punjab. The polling in the state is taking place in a single phase.

Chandigarh, May 19: The voting for the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019, has begun at 7 am in Punjab. The polling in the state is taking place in a single phase. Thirteen constituencies – Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Patiala, Bhatinda, Firozpur, Faridkot, Khadoor Sahib, Fatehgarh Sahib, Anandpur Sahib, Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur are going for polls. The counting of votes will take on May 23. Till 5 pm, 55.72 percent voter turnout was recorded. Punjab minister Navjot Singh Sidhu and his wife cast their votes in Amritsar. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23.

Also Read | Jharkhand Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Phase 7 Voting Underway For Rajmahal, Dumka And Godda Parliamentary Seats; 67.17% Voter Turnout Recorded Till 5 pm

Meanwhile, clashes were reported from Bhatinda. One person was injured in the clashed between two groups outside polling booth number 122 in Talwandi Sabo. Police said, "Poll violence took place here, one person opened fire. We've recorded statements and registered a case. Polling has resumed."

A total of 223 candidates are in the fray in the seventh phase of elections in the state. There are a total of 2,08,92,674 voters in Punjab. Out which 1,10,59,828 are males and 98,32,286 are females and 560 are third gender voters. Over 23,000 polling booths are set up across the state. Punjab Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The main fight in Punjab will be between the Congress and the BJP-SAD alliance. However, some constituencies of the state including Ludhiana, Sangrur, Bhatinda and Faridkot are likely to witness a high-pitched multi-cornered electoral battle. The political parties in the fray were ruling Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and its alliance partner Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Congress, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Punjab CM Amarinder Singh Says Congress Will Drop Leaders From Cabinet Who Fail to Ensure Victory For Party in State.

The key candidates who are contesting the Lok Sabha elections in Punjab include former deputy chief minister of the state Sukhbir Singh Badal from Firozpur, his wife and Union Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal from Bhatinda, union minister Hardeep Singh Puri from Amritsar, Bollywood actor Sunny Deol and Senior Congress leader Sunil Jakhar from Gurdaspur and Bhagwant Mann from Sangrur and Preneet Kaur from Patiala.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP-SAD alliance had won six seats. The AAP who contested for the time, had won four seats, while the managed to bag only three seats. However, in the bye-elections held in 2017 on two seats – Gurdaspur and Amritsar, Congress had won both the seats. In 2014, the grand old party had won only in Amritsar, while Gurdaspur seat was won by the BJP.