President Pranab Mukherjee Confers Padma Awards on 89 People

President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday conferred the Padma awards at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi.

In a civil investiture ceremony, former Lok Sabha speaker PA Sangma (Posthumous), BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi, Nationalist Congress Party supremo Sharad Pawar, and former ISRO chairman Professor UR Rao were awarded the country’s second highest civilian award, Padma Vibhushan.

The ceremony was attended by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice President of India Hamid Ansari, Speaker of the Lok Sabha Sumitra Mahajan, along with other dignitaries.

The President also conferred Padma Bhushan, the third highest civilian award, to yoga guru Swami Niranjana Nanda Saraswati, Thai princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn, and Tehemton Erach Udwadia, a doctor who is considered the father of laparoscopic surgery in India.

Swami Niranjana Nanda did not attend the ceremony.

Cricketer Virat Kohli, Bollywood singer Anuradha Paudwal, and many others were conferred the Padma Sri at the ceremony.

Check out the full list of awardees in the document below:

(With inputs from IANS)

Video Editor: Sandeep Suman

Join The Quint on WhatsApp. Type “JOIN” and send to 9910181818.