Post MCD Polls Defeat, AAP and Cong Leaders Resign From Posts

Those who have offered to resign includes Congress’ Ajay Maken and PC Chacko and AAP’s Dilip Pandey and Alka Lamba.

The Aam Aadmi Party and the Congress’ dismal performances in the MCD polls on Wednesday have had a direct consequence – leaders from both the parties have resigned or offered to resign from their posts.

Immediately after the Congress faced a crushing defeat in the elections, Ajay Maken said he is resigning as the capital’s Congress chief. “I want to set an example, I will work as an ordinary worker,” Maken told the media. He further called the defeat “personally disappointing”.

Also Read: MCD Live: Kejriwal Concedes Defeat, Congratulates BJP on Victory

Maken further added that he will not take up any post in the party.

Congress’ in-charge of Delhi affairs PC Chacko also resigned from his post, owning responsibility for the party's dismal show in the polls.

He sent his resignation to party president Sonia Gandhi and vice president Rahul Gandhi.

He said the party should introspect and ascertain the reasons for its defeat in Delhi and redefine its future strategy.

From the Aam Aadmi party, the party’s Delhi convener Dilip Pandey offered his resignation on Wednesday.

Alka Lamba also offered to resign from her post and also relinquish all positions in the party taking “responsibility” for the defeat of AAP candidates in her constituency.

“I take personal responsibility for the party’s defeat in all three wards in my constituency and offer to resign from all party posts and as MLA,” Lamba, who represents the Chandni Chowk constituency, tweeted.

However, Lamba said she will continue to support and “provide strength” to Kejriwal.