Patna Univ Election Results: ABVP Bags 3 seats, JD(U) Wins 2

The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) bagged three posts, while the JD(U) trailed with two posts in the recently announced election results for the Patna University Students' Union (PUSU), Zee News reported.

As per the results declared early on Thursday, 6 December, JD(U)’s Mohit Prakash won the post of president while ABVP's Anjana Singh was elected the vice-president.

The posts of the Chief Secretary and Joint Secretary went to ABVP's Manikant Mani and Raja Ravi respectively, and JD(U)’s Kumar Satyam was elected the Treasurer, the report said.

A ruckus was created by those supporting the contesting candidates in PUSU elections over a reported delay in announcing the results, it said.

Hundreds of students shouted slogans in protest as there was a delay in bringing the ballot boxes from all the polling booths to the main counting centre.

A total of 114 candidates contested for 29 posts, the report said, adding that the polling was held in 14 constituencies, including 10 colleges and four faculties.

According to the report, around 20,000 voters cast their votes in the PUSU elections.

A voter turnout of 58.5 percent was recorded during the PUSU elections, with the highest polling percentage (84 percent) being recorded from the College of Arts.

(With inputs from Zee News)

. Read more on Education by The Quint.RSS & BJP’s Nehru-Netaji ‘Cosplay’: Irony Dies a Thousand DeathsRTI Reveals Govt Was Monitoring Citizens’ Social Media Since 2016 . Read more on Education by The Quint.