BJP Stakes Claim to Form Government in Goa With 21 Seats

Manohar Parrikar is likely to step down from the post of Defence Minister and return as the Chief Minister of Goa.

Addressing a press conference earlier on Sunday, BJP’s Parrikar claimed stake to form the government, with the support of MGP and Goa Forward party. The alliance would then have a total of 21 seats in the 40-seat Goa Assembly.

BJP's election in-charge for Goa, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari on Sunday said:

Parrikar will resign as the Defence Minister before taking oath as Chief Minister of Goa.

However, Parrikar clarified that he hasn’t resigned yet.

Manohar ParrikarI have not resigned as the Defence Minister yet. We met the Governor, expecting an invitation. Once we receive it, we will consult our colleagues and decide the date for swearing in. This is a mandate given by the people, though we fell short of majority. Together we have completed the magic figure of 21.

Newly elected Goa BJP MLAs on Sunday unanimously backed Parrikar as the state legislature party leader, along with the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP).

Vijay Sardesai, Goa Forward Party  We do not see anybody else in legislature party of BJP capable of leading Goa. Want maximum development. We have decided to support BJP to form the government under the leadership of Manohar Parrikar.

The MLAs, who met to explore the possibility of forming government in the state, passed a resolution urging party chief Amit Shah to nominate Parrikar as leader of the legislature party.

Also Read: Congress Single Largest Party in Goa, But BJP Could Form the Govt

The BJP secured 13 seats in the state Assembly polls. The Congress emerged as the single largest party, bagging 17 seats in the 40-member House. The MGP and GFP won three seats each.

The BJP has the support of Independent MLA Govind Gawade, who was backed by the party during the election from Priol constituency.

When Manohar Parrikar cast his vote on 10 February, he was confident of a clear majority. Not only did the BJP fail to get a clear majority, they even failed to become the single largest party. Additionally, the incumbent Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar also failed to secure a win from his constituency.