Other Backward Class list expanded

New Delhi, June 2 (ANI): The Union Cabinet today approved the inclusion of the names of some castes and communities in the Central List of Other Backward Class (OBCs).

The Union Cabinet approved the amendment on the bases of recommendation of the National Commission for Backward Classes.

The approval was for the inclusion and amendment of the names of the castes and communities in the Central Lists of OBCs in respect of Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal and Union Territories(UTs) of Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Puducherry.

Accordingly, the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment will make amendments in the Central lists of OBCs in respect of these States and UTs.

Inclusion of these castes/communities in the Central list of OBCs would enable them to avail the benefits of reservation in Central Government services and posts as well as in the Central education institutions, thus contributing to the goal of equity and inclusiveness. (ANI)