Being Steve Smith isn't easy.
First you get caught cheating. Then you induct the word ‘brain fade’ into the cricketing dictionary. Your board makes peace with Virat Kohli’s bosses and you’d think you’d be in the clear?
Not if you’re Steve Smith.
Batting on the fifth day of the Ranchi Test, Steve Smith had the mammoth task of trying to ensure Australia batted the day out, to draw the match. But in the 30th over of the innings, the skipper completely misjudged a Ravindra Jadeja delivery, clearing the way for the ball to hit his stumps.
Smith walked back to the hut on 21 and commentator Sanjay Manjrekar got the cue to the first official ‘brain fade’ joke of the match. Watch video for more.