Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded for rechargeable lithium-ion batteries

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Wednesday awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2019 to John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino "for the development of lithium-ion batteries".At the age of 97, Prof Goodenough is the oldest ever Nobel laureate.