New this week: U2, Chris Stapleton, Miguel, and more

Wendy Geller
Writer, Yahoo Entertainment

Searching for something to listen to this weekend? Yahoo Music has you covered with a rundown of some of this week’s biggest and buzzing releases, from artists including U2, Chris Stapleton, Miguel, and more. Check back every Friday for a fresh list of albums to help fuel your weekend playlists.

U2: Songs of Experience (Island/Interscope). The veteran Irish rockers seemingly got their mojo back after 2014’s controversial iTunes intrusion Songs of Innocence by revisiting their landmark Joshua Tree album on a stadium tour. Now they’re ready to unveil …Experience , the sequel to …Innocence, which, judging from the preview track “The Blackout,” finds them back in fine form.

Chris Stapleton: From a Room: Volume 2 (Mercury Nashville). The newly minted country superstar delivers the second installment of From a Room, which skillfully blends a unmistakably Southern mix of rock, country, folk, blues, and soul.

Miguel: War & Leisure (ByStorm Entertainment/RCA). The artist provides yet another set full of highly imaginative pop, utilizing surprising elements such as distorted, ambient noises, set off by stellar production.

Neil Young + Promise of the Real: The Visitor (Reprise). The famously political Young teams up with rock band Promise of the Real (featuring Willie Nelson’s son Lukas) for a musical journey that, as usual, is totally of his own vision.

Van Morrison: Versatile (Legacy Recordings). The legendary musician has been especially prolific this year — this is his second studio album in less than three months, and is a mixture of jazz standards and new originals.

Andy Grammer: The Good Parts (S-Curve). Grammer’s third album is his most authentic, expanding the singer-songwriter’s range to a degree that moves the needle on his career. LunchMoney Lewis makes an appearance on one single.

Cindy Wilson: Change (Kill Rock Stars). The B-52’s chanteuse approaches a solo record with help from friends and fellow Athens, Ga., musicians, experimenting with an electro-pop and synth-based approach.

Glassjaw: Material Control (Glassjaw/Century Media). This set marks the Long Island-based post-hardcore outfit’s first album in 15 years, and its sound is just as fans might expect, which is a good thing.

Danielle Bradbery: I Don’t Believe We’ve Met (Big Machine). The Season 4 winner of The Voice has established a multifaceted approach to her country roots, successfully mixing doses of pop, R&B, and soul into her core sound.

Wisin: Victory (Sony Music Latin). Here’s half of the reggaeton duo Wisin & Yandel with a release boasting a massive guest list, including: Timbaland, Daddy Yankee, Yandel, Nicky Jam, Don Omar, Ozuna, Zion, Lennonx, Mario Domm, Tito El Bambino, Bad Bunny, De La Ghetto, Arcángel, and Noriel & Almighty.

Operation: Mindcrime: A New Reality (Frontiers Music s.r.l.). This is the latest project fronted by former Queensrÿche vocalist Geoff Tate, which shows off an assured command of progressive rock.

Tav Falco: A Tav Falco Christmas (ORG Music/FRENZI Music & Films). Yet another entry into 2017’s extremely large and diverse holiday album collection, but this one is a little different. The avant-garde Falco tackles Christmas standards, recorded at Sam Phillips Recording Service studios in Memphis.