National two-wheeler racing: Interesting contests in store as titles up for grabs

·2-min read

Chennai, Dec 17 (PTI) The second and final round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2020 at the MMRT track near here over the weekend is likely to throw up close contests in the race for top spots.

The Pro-Stock 165cc class is poised for an interesting finish as with a straight fight between Eneos Honda Erula Racing and TVS Racing riders.

Only 15 points separate the top four Eneos Honda's Mathana Kumar (73), KY Ahamed (61, TVS), Rajiv Sethu (60, Eneos Honda) and Jagan Kumar (58, TVS).

In the Pro-Stock 301-400cc category, Bengalurus Anish Damodar Shetty (Race Concepts), dominated the 30-rider, premier with three wins from four starts for a 12-point lead over TVS Racing's KY Ahamed (one win) and will look to secure the title with another strong performance.

A total of 29 races across 10 categories have been scheduled over the weekend and they will be held behind closed doors with limited entry due to the prevailing pandemic.

The 2020 National Championship, hit hard by lockdown and restrictions due to Covid-19 virus spread, was compressed into two weekends instead of five, as also the number of races in each of the four categories Pro-Stock 301-400cc, Pro- Stock 165cc, Novice and Girls.

That apart, Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup, with two categories (NSF 250R and Novice) is also part of the weekend card besides TVS One-Make Championship organised by MMSC which has four classes Open, Novice, Girls and Media.

With 2 podium wins in first round, 14-year-old Sarthak Chavan from Pune heads the NSF250R class. Challenging him will be the frontrunners Kavin Quintal & Varoon S from Chennai.

Meanwhile, 17-year old Shyam Sundar from Chennai is currently leading the scoreboard after back-to-back wins in round 1 of CBR150R class.

The first round held from December 11-13 witnessed thrilling battles which are expected to be even more intense in the second round that will also decide the 2020 National champions. The titles, rider, team and manufacturer, are still wide open.PTI SS ROH ROH