Myanmar's ruling party leads in by-election

Indo Asian News Service

Nay Pyi Taw, April 2 (IANS) Myanmar's ruling National League for Democracy (NLD) is leading in Saturday's parliamentary by-election, so far winning five out of the 19 seats at stake, initial results released by the country's Election Commission showed on Sunday.

The five parliamentary seats so far won by the NLD include four with the House of Representatives (Lower House) from Yangon region's three township constituencies and Sagaing region's Monywa township constituency, as well as one with the state Parliament from Shan state's Nyaungshwe township constituency.

The Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) won a seat with the House of Representatives in Mon state's Chaungsone township constituency, Xinhua news agency reported.

The results of the remaining constituencies will continue to be announced later on Sunday, the commission said.

The multi-party parliamentary by-election was held across Myanmar on Saturday in which two million eligible voters cast their ballots.

A total of 94 candidates competed for 19 parliamentary seats left vacant in 22 townships in eight regions and states.

Of the open seats, nine are with the House of Representatives, three with the House of Nationalities and seven with the state parliaments.

It was the first by-election in the tenure of the new government, led by the ruling NLD, one year after it assumed office.