Mumbai City FC win ISL crown after overcoming ATKMB

Rajdeep Saha
·2-min read

Mumbai City FC win ISL crown after overcoming ATKMB
Mumbai City FC win ISL crown after overcoming ATKMB

13 Mar 2021: Mumbai City FC win ISL crown after overcoming ATKMB

Mumbai City FC won the 2020-21 edition of the Indian Super League (ISL) on Saturday by overcoming ATK Mohun Bagan 2-1.

This was Mumbai's maiden ISL crown.

Mumbai had earlier secured the ISL Shield along with a spot in the AFC Champions League group stage by finishing first in the standings in the regular season.

Here are further details.

Lobera: Special moment for Mumbai City FC coach Lobera

Mumbai City FC head coach Sergio Lobera had earlier helped FC Goa to clinch the ISL League Winners Shield last season.

However, the club parted ways with the coach who joined Mumbai City in the summer.

In his first season with the club, Lobera has won the League Winners Shield and the ISL trophy.

This is his third trophy in the ISL.

Dominance: Mumbai maintain 100% record against ATKMB

The Islanders had earlier beaten ATKMB 1-0 and 2-0 in the league stage. And now, they dished out another win over the Kolkata based side.

Notably, both teams finished the regular season with 40 points, which is the joint-highest points tally in the ISL.

Earlier, Bengaluru FC had achieved the 40-point mark in the fourth season the ISL.

ATK: First loss for ATK in an ISL final

ATK merged with Mohun Bagan last year and their name was changed from ATK to ATKMB.

Notably, ATK had won the title last season. The side was formerly called Atletico de Kolkata and had won two ISL honors in 2014 and 2016 respectively.

This was the first loss for the Kolkata-based side in the finals of the ISL.

Fact: Bipin Singh hands Mumbai City FC victory

David Williams gave ATKMB the lead in the 18th minute after Roy Krishna robbed Jahouh off the ball. ATKMB then conceded an own goal 11 minutes later. The match seemed to head into extra-time but Bipin Singh settled the matters after another ATKMB mistake.

Fact: Sergio Lobera reacts after Mumbai's win

Fact: ISL 2020-21 champions!