Mumbai beat Uttar Pradesh to win Vijay Hazare Trophy

Rajdeep Saha
·2-min read

Mumbai beat Uttar Pradesh to win Vijay Hazare Trophy
Mumbai beat Uttar Pradesh to win Vijay Hazare Trophy

14 Mar 2021: Mumbai beat Uttar Pradesh to win Vijay Hazare Trophy

Mumbai chased down Uttar Pradesh's target of 313 runs in the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 season.

Uttar Pradesh posted 312/4 in 50 overs with Madhav Kaushik slamming an unbeaten 156.

In reply, Mumbai saw Prithvi Shaw and Aditya Tare contribute with valiant knocks to win the game by six wickets.

Here we present the details of the finale.

UP vs Mumbai: How did the final pan out?

UP opener Madhav Kaushik played a superb innings to remain unbeaten on 158.

He consumed 156 balls and had a strike rate of 101.28.

Samarth Singh and Akshdeep Nath (55 each) supported Kaushik.

Tanush Kotian (2/54) stood out with the ball.

Meanwhile, Shaw's brilliance helped Mumbai start in a convincing fashion.

After Shaw's dismissal, Tare smashed his maiden List A hundred to help Mumbai.

Duo: Akshdeep finishes with the most runs for UP, Kaushik shines

Akshdeep finished as the top run-scorer for Uttar Pradesh in the 2020-21 season. He accumulated 387 runs in eight matches at 55.28.

He smashed his fifth fifty of the campaign.

Notably, Akshdeep was the only player with 300-plus runs for UP.

23-year-old Madhav slammed his maiden ton in List A cricket.

This was just his sixth List A game.

Shaw: Prithvi Shaw scripts this special record

Prithvi Shaw smashed a 39-ball 73, hitting 10 fours and four sixes.

He took just 30 balls to score his fifty.

Shaw ended the tournament with 827 runs.

He became the first batsman in the competition's history to score in excess of 800 runs.

He hit four hundreds and a fifty, including a record-breaking 227* against Puducherry.

Fact: Mumbai were terrific in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 season

Mumbai had earlier topped Group D with five wins from five matches. They beat Saurashtra by nine wickets in the quarters and then triumphed against Karnataka in the semi-finals. They registered a 72-run victory over Karnataka. And now, they defeated UP to clinch the title.

Fact: Mumbai win fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy

Mumbai won their fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy. They had last won the tournament in 2018-19. With this record, Mumbai equaled the tally of Karnataka, who too have won four honors. Tamil Nadu have won the most titles (5).