Model code of conduct in force for K'taka bypolls from Nov 11

Model code of conduct in force for K'taka bypolls from Nov 11 Bengaluru, Nov 10 (PTI) Ahead of the model code ofconduct coming into effect from Monday in the 15 assemblyconstituencies where bypolls are scheduled, Chief ElectoralOfficer Sanjiv Kumar said the preparations were afoot for thesmooth conduct of elections on December 5.

The model code of conduct shall come into force fromNovember 11 in the district or districts in which the whole orany part of the assembly constituency going for byelection isincluded, Kumar told reporters on Sunday.

He said the code of conduct would be applicable tothe candidates, political parties, state government and theUnion government for the districts concerned.

According to the amended schedule for thebyelections, the date for filing nominations starts fromMonday and the last date of nominations is November 18.

The date of scrutiny of nominations is November 19and the last date for the withdrawal of candidates is November21 and the byelections would take place on December 5 from 7am to 6 pm.

The counting of votes would take place on December 9.

The byelections would take place in Athani, Kagwad,Gokak, Yellapura, Hirekerur, Ranebennur, Vijayanagara,Chikkaballapura, KR Pura, Yashwanthapura, Mahalakshmi Layout,Shivajinagar, Hoskote, KR Pete and Hunsur.

The constituencies have 37.5 lakh voters, who wouldexercise their franchise at 4,185 polling stations.

We have enough number of EVM-VVPATs for the 4,185polling stations. We have 200 per cent BU, CU (ballot unitsand control units) and VVPATs. They have been kept safely,Kumar told reporters.

There would be a deployment of 22,598 pollpersonnel.

The Election Commission has set up an integratedcomplaint monitoring and media monitoring centre at the officeof the CEO at Khanija Bhavan here.

Besides receiving complaints through letters, emailsand national grievances redressal system web portal, peoplecan use the eVIGIL mobile application.

Kumar said training has been held for the all theofficers involved at various levels and another level oftraining would be organised.

Another important feature of the byelection is theusage of M3 EVMs, which have advanced features, on a large-scale in Karnataka.

When the election process was started previouslybefore the ECI deferred the election from October 21 toDecember 5, 29 people had filed the nominations.

The CEO of Karnataka said those nominations stillhold good.

There are 29 nominations. They hold good. They arealso very much there. Out of 29, 15 belong to nationalparties, three are unrecognised party and another 11 areindependent, Kumar said in reply to a query.

These bypolls were necessitated after theresignation and subsequent disqualification of 17 MLAscomprising 14 from Congress and three from the JD(S) by thethen speaker K R Ramesh Kumar.

Their disqualification had brought down thecoalition government of Congress and the JD(S) and installedthe BJP government in Karnataka.

The election dates for Rajarajeshwari Nagar andMaski constituencies were not announced as the matter ispending in court. PTI GMSNVG NVG