MCD election results 2017: All you need to know about BJP's victory and AAP's loss

Led by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal AAP stood second with 48 seats while Congress finished last with only 30 seats in its kitty.

Scoring a hat-trick in the Delhi MCD election, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today rode on a Modi wave to sweep the capital's three civic bodies with a thumping majority and dealt a severe blow to the AAP (Aam Aadmi Party) and Congress.

The BJP won 181 of the 270 wards that went to polls on Sunday to secure control of all the three Municipal Corporations of Delhi - North, South and East.

In North, the BJP won 64 of 103 wards, 70 of 104 in South and 47 of 63 in East and retained its 10-year hold on the capital's three civic bodies.



  1. Led by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal AAP stood second with 48 seats while Congress finished last with only 30 seats in its kitty.
  2. The BJP credited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the victory in MCD which came close on the heels of the party's successes in the Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur. Party president Amit Shah said the win in Delhi MCD polls shows PM Narendra Modi's acceptability to the masses.
  3. AAP alleged that the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were rigged to help the saffron party win. "Without rigging, such a massive win is not possible," Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia said, reiterating the accusations the party has been raising since AAP's defeat in the Punjab and Goa Assembly polls.
  4. Kejriwal however steered clear of blaming EVMs for the defeat and promised all cooperation to the civic bodies. "I congratulate BJP on their victory in all 3 MCDs. My govt looks forward to working wid MCDs for the betterment of Delhi (sic)," Kejriwal tweeted.
  5. AAP's Lok Sabha MP from Punjab, Bhagwant Mann, held the party's leadership responsible for defeat in the state Assembly election and even said the party functions like a "mohalla cricket team".
  6. AAP MLA Alka Lamba, who represents Chandni Chowk in the Delhi Assembly, offered to quit on moral grounds for the party's defeat in the seats falling under her constituency. AAP's Delhi convener Dilip Pandey also resigned from his post.
  7. Congress leader Ajay Maken was clearly disheartened by the drubbing in the polls and even announced that he was resigning as Delhi Congress president. He owned up moral responsibility for the defeat and said he will not take up any other post in the party for at least a year. PC Chacko also offered to resign as Congress' Delhi in-charge.
  8. The results however came with a silver lining for the Congress is its vote share increased from a dismal 8 per cent in 2015 to 21 per cent in the MCD election 2017.
  9. Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari called for Kejriwal's resignation as Delhi CM, saying "the people of Delhi have exercised their right to recall" by voting against the AAP, which rode to power more than two years ago, winning 67 of the 70 legislative seats in the Delhi Assembly polls.