Manipur bypolls: 78.66 per cent voter turnout till 3 pm

·1-min read
A visual from outside polling booth in Manipur
A visual from outside polling booth in Manipur

Imphal (Manipur) [India], November 7 (ANI): Manipur recorded a voter turnout of 78.66 per cent till 3 pm on Saturday as the polling is underway on four Assembly constituencies, according to the Election Commission of India.

Bye-elections to Lilong and Wangjing-Tentha seats in Thoubal district and Saitu in Kangpokpi and Wangoi in Imphal West were necessitated after four Congress MLAs resigned from the state Legislative Assembly.

The MLAs had later quit the party and joined the BJP.

Over 1.35 lakh voters will decide the fate of 12 candidates including four from Congress, three from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), three independents and one from National People's Party.

The ruling BJP is supporting an independent candidate on Lilong assembly seat. (ANI)