Nisar Sayyed, Father of Malegaon Blast Victim, Moves NIA Court Against Sadhvi Pragya Thakur Being Fielded by BJP From Bhopal

Team Latestly
A documentary film has been made on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Bhopal Lok Sabha candidate Pragya Singh Thakur, which will be released on Wednesday or Thursday.

New Delhi, April 18: Nisar Ahmed Sayyed Bilal, the father of a Malegaon bomb blast victim has moved the Special NIA Court, seeking action against the accused Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur who has been fielded as the BJP candidate from Bhopal. The application before the court seeks cancellation of the bail granted to Thakur on medical grounds.

Also Read | Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur Breaks Down Recalling Her 'Torture' in Custody; Watch Video

The petitioner has argued that since Sadhvi is entering the poll fray, it negates the argument that she is suffering from ill-health -- considering which the bench had granted bail to the Malegaon attack accused in 2017. The bail was sanctioned by the court after her counsel submitted a medical report proving that she is suffering from "breast cancer". Sadhvi Pragya to Contest From Bhopal Lok Sabha Seat As BJP Candidate Against Digvijay Singh.

The BJP on Wednesday fielded Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, facing trial in Malegaon blast case, in Lok Sabha elections from Bhopal seat, where she is set to have a direct contest with Congress heavyweight and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Digvijay Singh.

Also Read | Shakti Bhargava, Who Hurled Shoe at BJP MP GVL Narsimha Rao, Let Off by Delhi Police After Brief Interrogation

Thakur, who is out on bail, had joined the BJP only hours before her name was announced as its candidate, underscoring the saffron party's attempt to bring the Hindutva plank at the centre stage of polls in the high profile constituency, which has been its bastion for many elections.

An NIA court had dropped charges against her under the stringent MCOCA but she and other co-accused are still facing other charges in the Malegaon case.

Among other candidates, K P Yadav will be the BJP nominee from Guna, which is held by senior Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia who is contesting again from here.

The BJP has named Raj Bahadur Singh and Ramakant Bhargav as its nominees from Sagar and Vidisha respectively.

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj had won from Vidisha in 2014 but she had announced that she will not fight polls this time due to health reasons.

(With PTI inputs)