Maha Govt Formation Updates: Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray takes oath as the 19th Chief Minister

State Ministers Chhagan Bhujbal and Subhash Desai arrive at Sahyadri guest house for the first cabinet meeting.

CM Uddhav Thackeray, along with his wife Rashmi and son Aaditya Thackeray offer prayers at Siddhivinayak Temple after the oath-taking. 

Only Sharad Pawarji is keeping this unnatural alliance together, Congress doesn't even have 10% say in the govt. They are just watching over from Delhi, said Poonam Mahajan

Shiv Sena workers celebrate in Jammu after Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as CM.

I am confident he will work diligently for the bright future of Maharashtra, PM Modi congratulates Uddhav. 

Uddhav's oath-taking ceremony concludes

Congress' Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut sworn in as ministers in Uddhav's cabinet.

NCP's Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal sworn in as ministers in Uddhav's cabinet.

Watch: Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as Chief Minister

Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai sworn in as ministers in Uddhav's cabinet.

Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray takes oath as the 19th Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

Former Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis present on the stage for the oath-taking ceremony of CM designate Uddhav Thackeray.

Mukesh Ambani, along with wife Nita and son Anant arrive for the oath-taking ceremony of CM designate Uddhav Thackeray. 

It is a historic event and I commend you on your visionary leadership, writes former PM Manmohan Singh.

DMK Chief MK Stalin and DMK leader TR Baalu present for Uddhav Thackeray's oath-taking.

Raj Thackeray reaches Shivaji Park for swearing-in ceremony

Uddhav Thackeray's cousin and MNS chief, Raj Thackeray has reached Shivaji Park

After Sonia, Rahul drops out of Uddhav's swearing-in ceremony

Uddhav Thackeray will hold his first cabinet meeting at Sahyadri guest house at 8 pm.

Sonia Gandhi writes to Uddhav Thackeray. "I regret that I'll not be able to be present at the ceremony," she says.

The Nanar Refinery Project and bullet train project will be taken up in our Cabinet meeting, said Eknath Shinde. 

Common Minimum Program of Maha Vikas Aghadi 


1. Immediate loan waiver will be granted to the farmers.

2. Process of filling all the vacant posts in the State Government shall be initiated immediately.

3. A law shall be passed to ensure 80% reservation in jobs for local youth.

4. Children of farm labourers and students belonging to economically weaker section shall receive education loan at 0% interest rate.

5. To ensure affordable healthcare for all citizens One Rupee Clinic will be launched at the taluka level, along with providing health insaurance for every citizen.

6. Permission process shall be simplified and concessions shall be extended to attract new industries and investors.

7. Cheap and efficient food to be provided in the state for Rs 10 only.

Congress leaders Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut to take oath today. 

Total six leaders, two from each party will take oath today, says Praful Patel. Cabinet Ministers will be announced in the coming days, he adds.

Ajit Pawar won't take the oath today. 6 leaders from each party to take oath today. Deputy CM not yet decided.

BJP could have proved its majority if the Supreme Court had not given a deadline of 24 hours for the floor test, says Ramdas Athawale.

We've invited all big leaders including the Prime Minister and Sonia Gandhi. We've also invited former CM and Raj Thackeray. Everyone should witness the historic day, says Eknath Shinde.

"I am going to take oath as a minister," says Jayant Patil. Deputy Chief Minister not decided yet, he adds.

Ajit Pawar arrives at Silver Oak, residence of NCP Chief Sharad Pawar. Jayant Patil and Praful Patel also present at the residence.

Maha Vikas Aghadi to hold a press meet at 4 p.m, CPM to be released

Mumbai Police issues stage and entry plan for Uddhav Thackeray's swearing-in ceremony at Shivaji Park

Raj Thackeray to attend cousin's oath-taking ceremony

Raj Thackeray will be attending his cousin and Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thakceray's oath taking ceremony today. Earlier in the day, Uddhav had called Raj and invited him to the swearing-in.

Ajit Pawar not gone incommunicado, will attend Uddhav's oath-taking ceremony, says NCP spokesperson

Sena lauds Pawar, dubs him 'margdarshak' of Maha Vikas Aghadi

With Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray set to take oath as Maharashtra's chief minister, the party on Thursday heaped praises on NCP chief Sharad Pawar and termed him 'margdarshak' (guide) of the new government in the state.

An editorial in Sena mouthpiece 'Saamana' acknowledged Sharad Pawar's efforts in taking the Sena-NCP-Congress alliance forward. "A strong and experienced 'margdarshak' like Sharad Pawar is with us. This government will not function with any deceitful intention against anyone," the Sena said With the single largest party BJP being unable to form government, the Sena described the change in political dynamics as the "rise of a new sun" in Maharashtra.

"The current mood of happiness in the state can be equated with the one the entire country had at the time of Independence on August 15, 1947," the Marathi daily said.

NCP leader Supriya Sule remembers Balasaheb and Mina Thackeray

MK Stalin arrives in Mumbai, will attend Uddhav's swearing-in ceremony

Bal Thackerays' Samadhi in Shivaji Park decorated ahead of Uddhav's swearing-in ceremony as CM of Maharashtra

CM and few leaders from three parties to take oath today, says Balasaheb Thorat

Uddhav Thackeray to decide cabinet, he is not only Aditya's father but also CM: Sanjay Raut

Sanjay Raut's maintains secrecy over Aditya Thackeray's position in father and soon to be Maharshtra CM Uddhav Thackeray's cabinet.

Raut says, "Uddhav Thackeray ji is not only his father but also chief minister. He will take the decision."

'Today is a historic day': Sanjay Raut

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay raut calls Uddhav's oath taking ceremony as CM 'historic'. He said that today's ceremony will have ripple efffects in Indian politics.

Political leaders from across party lines are expected to join the swearing ceremony today.

"It is upto Sharad Pawar to decide. I don't know, it is NCP's matter. Sharad Pawar is senior-most leader of 'Maha Vikas Aghadi'. What post should be given to Ajit Pawar or someone else in his party, will be decided by him," Raut said.

NCP's Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal to take oath today

Commissioner of Police Sanjay Barve reviews security arrangement at Shivaji Park before Uddhav Thackeray's oath-taking

Ajit Pawar to be Deputy Chief Minister: Sources to ANI

Bust of Meena Thackeray placed outside Shivaji Park ahead of Uddhav Thackeray's swearing in ceremony