Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: How celebrities fared this time

Liu Chuen Chen
Election Results 2019: The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections saw several celebrities, both from the film and sports fraternity, test their popularity at the ballot.

Election Results 2019: The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections saw several celebrities, both from the film and sports fraternity, test their popularity at the ballot. As the final election results were declared late on Thursday, a sizable number of them are all set to attend Parliament this year.

Here’s how the celebrities have fared this election season:

Sunny Deol | Gurdaspur | Punjab

Making his political debut, actor Sunny Deol had joined the BJP in the presence of Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal in April. Pitted against Sunil Jakhar of the Congress who was seeking re-election from the seat, the actor-turned-politician won the Gurdaspur constituency by 82,459 votes.

Urmila Matondkar | Mumbai North | Maharashtra

In a setback to the Rangeela actor, BJP candidate Gopal Shetty won with a wide margin of more than 4.5 lakh votes in Mumbai North. Urmila had joined the Congress in the presence of Congress chief Rahul Gandhi in March.

Mimi Chakraborty | Jadavpur | West Bengal

Actor Mimi Chakraborty opened her political account on a Trinamool Congress ticket after winning by a margin of nearly three lakh votes from the prestigious Jadavpur Lok Sabha seat. It was in this seat that party chief Mamata Banerjee had trounced CPI(M) veteran and noted lawyer Somnath Chatterjee in 1984.

Nusrat Jahan | Basirhat | West Bengal

Pitted against BJP general secretary Sayantan Basu, actor-turned-politician Nusrat Jahan is set to make an impressive debut by leading in the electoral fight by over three lakh votes. The results of this seat are yet to be declared.

Adhikary Deepak (Dev) | Ghatal | West Bengal

The Ghatal MP defeated former IPS officer and BJP candidate Bharati Ghosh by over one lakh votes. The Indian Express had first reported about Ghosh s plans of taking a plunge in politics to take revenge against the TMC government in the state. I will definitely join a political party soon. When I followed their (TMC s) instructions, I was hailed as an honest officer. The moment I started putting my foot down on things I thought were inappropriate, they initiated criminal cases against me. I am determined to give them (TMC) a befitting reply, Ghosh had said.

Moon Moon Sen | Asansol | West Bengal

Losing to Union Minister and BJP candidate Babul Supriyo by nearly two lakh votes, actor Moon Moon Sen expressed regret over the party’s defeat in the constituency and its overall performance in the state. In a video released by news agency ANI, the TMC candidate told journalists, "I don’t know why we are losing. You (journalist) tell me why are we losing?"

Prakash Raj | Bangalore Central | Karnataka

Actor Prakash Raj, who was contesting from the Bangalore Central constituency, lost to his rivals — BJP candidate P C Mohan and Congress candidate Rizwan Arshad, who gained more than 3.5 lakh votes each. In Bangalore central, Raj ran an enthusiastic campaign but was not seen in political circles as a serious contender.

Gautam Gambhir | East Delhi

The former cricketer defeated his rivals — Aam Aadmi Party’s Atishi and Congress’ Arvinder Singh Lovely — in East Delhi. Gambhir won with a margin of nearly four lakh votes. During the poll campaign, he was accused of circulating derogatory pamphlets against Atishi. Gambhir, however, denied the allegations and accused the AAP of throwing muck in a desperate plan to try and win the election. Speaking to NDTV, he alleged that the AAP had circulated the pamphlets.

Vijender Singh Beniwal | South Delhi

India’s only Olympic bronze-medal winning boxer, Vijender Singh, who was contesting the polls on a Congress ticket from South Delhi constituency, also failed to put up a decent show. BJP candidate Ramesh Bidhuri won by over 3.5 lakh votes in the seat.

Shatrughan Sinha | Patna Sahib | Bihar

Actor-turned-politician and former BJP rebel Shatrughan Sinha, who defected to Congress, lost to Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad by over 2.5 lakh votes. While 18 candidates were in the fray in the constituency, the contest was viewed essentially as a direct fight between Sinha and Prasad.

Hema Malini | Mathura | Uttar Pradesh

Hema Malini retained Mathura, establishing a huge lead of nearly three lakh votes over her nearest rival Kunwar Narendra Singh of the Rashtriya Lok Dal. The actor-politician, who led a colourful campaign that inspired many memes on social media, took to Twitter to congratulate Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah for the "stupendous" performance of the BJP. She also thanked her party workers for their support in mounting a strong campaign for her.

Jaya Prada | Rampur | Uttar Pradesh

Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan defeated BJP candidate Jaya Prada from Rampur in Uttar Pradesh by over one lakh votes. After joining the BJP earlier this year, the two-term Lok Sabha MP had described Prime Minister Narendra Modi as a brave leader in whose hands the country was safe .

Kirron Kher | Chandigarh

Actor-turned-politician Kirron Kher headed for a second consecutive term as MP from Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat, after defeating her nearest rival Pawan Kumar Bansal of Congress by a margin of over 40,000 votes.

Krishna Poonia | Jaipur Rural | Rajasthan

Contesting against shooter-turned-politician Rajyavardhan Rathore Rathore from Jaipur Rural was Krishna Poonia, a track-and-field athlete, who lost by nearly four lakh votes.