Congress Races Ahead, Secures 28 Seats to BJP’s 21 in Manipur

The results of the Manipur assembly elections came out on Saturday. Out of the 60 assembly seats in Manipur, the Congress emerged as the leading political party with 28 seats while the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) had secured 21 seats.

The ruling Congress and the BJP are both claiming victory in the state after the two failed to notch up a majority number in the polls.

The National People's Party and the Naga People's Front- both won on 4 seats each while Lok Janshakti Party won on one seat. One seat each was won by an Independent and an All India Trinamool Congress candidate.

After a dismal performance in Thoubal, an emotional PRJA leader Irom Sharmila has vowed “never to contest elections again”.

BJP’s L Susindro Meitei wins from Khurai constituency, which is the hometown of PRJA leader Irom Sharmila.

BJP has won 20 seats so far, but trails the Congress which has bagged 24 seats in the state.

The counting for 18 constituencies in Manipur hasn’t begun, sources told The Quint.

Congress wins 8 seats in Manipur and is currently in the lead. BJP wins 3 and NPF wins 2 seats.

Konthoujam Govindas of Indian National Congress has won in Bishnupur by 5278 seats.

Supporters of CM Okram Ibobi Singh, who has won from Thoubal seat, celebrate his victory.

(Photo: ANI)

Congress and BJP are in a tight race with both parties leading in 17 seats each.

INC wins in Bishnupur, Keishamthong, Khundrakpam, Konthoujam, Lilong, Thangmeiband, Thoubal and Tipaimukh constituencies

BJP and Congress are in a cut throat race with both parties getting a lead in 14 constituencies each.

In a huge blow to activist-turned-politician, Irom Sharmila garnered only 90 votes and lost to CM Ibobi Singh by a huge margin in Thoubal.

Sapam Ranjan Singh of BJP wins from Konthoujam seat over his Congress rival Konthoujam Sharat Singh by a margin of 2,772 votes.

The Congress is leading in 14 seats currently and BJP is leading in 13.

The former DGP of Manipur and member of National People’s Party candidate Yumnam Joykumar Singh is leading with 5787 votes in Uripok.

BJP is currently leading in 14 seats in Manipur, while Congress is leading in 12 seats.

Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh wins from Thoubal with 15,804 votes.

(Photo Courtesy: ElC Results)

Congress is now ahead of BJP with a lead in 12 seats, while the BJP is leading in 11 seats.

Congress has picked up pace and is back in the race with a lead in 10 seats. BJP is currently leading in 11 seats.

Congress is leading in five seats in Manipur, with BJP leading in three seats.

  • Counting of votes begins at 8 am
  • 86% and 84% turnout were recorded during the two phases of polls in Manipur
  • Trends for winners and losers expected to be clear around 11 am
  • Election Commission to count votes at 11 centres across Manipur

Stay tuned for all the live updates here!

Congress is leading in three seats, while BJP is leading in two seats in Manipur.

Chief Minister Ibobi Singh is leading in the Thoubal constituency.

Counting of votes in the 5 states-Manipur, Punjab, UP, Uttarakhand and Goa begins.

(Photo: ANI)

The entire state has been put under tight security. Section 144 CrPC has been imposed near all counting halls, officials told PTI.

PRJA Chief Irom Sharmila. (Photo: ANI)

The ‘Iron Lady’ of Manipur and PRJA (Peoples' Resurgence and Justice Alliance) chief, Irom Chanu Sharmila on Saturday said she is undeterred by the exit poll results.

Quoting Irom, ANI reported:

I do not feel much affected by the result. It depends upon the people’s mindset. I don’t feel much affected by it, because people can still change their minds and everybody knows muscle and money power is being openly used by parties. What we really need to be is the power to bring the change and make the difference from dark to light. In case of my defeat, I want to try in 2019 election.

On Friday, CM Ibobi Singh had said that he is confident of a win.

We are confident of getting a clear majority this time. We will win anywhere between 40 and 42 seats. 

Government officials get frisked before heading into the Deputy Commissioner’s office in Thoubal. (Photo: The Quint/Maina Dutta)

Chief Minister and member of Congress Ibobi Singh and activist turned politician Irom Sharmila of PRJA are contesting from Thoubal.

Government officials get frisked before heading into the Deputy Commissioner’s office in Thoubal. (Photo: The Quint/Maina Dutta)

Counting of votes in the Manipur Assembly election will be taken up at 8 am on Saturday, for which 11 counting centres have been set up.

Chief Electoral Officer VK Dewangan told reporters that results of Chandel, Jiribam, Senapati and Kangpokpi would take "minimal time".

He said that the result in the Thoubal constituency, where rights activist Irom Sharmila is pitted against Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, is likely to take more time.

The Election Commission has said that central paramilitary forces were guarding the EVMs as prohibitory orders under Section 144 CrPC were imposed by the District magistrates near the perimeter of all counting halls.

He said that despite logistical difficulties due to the ongoing economic blockade and prevailing law and order situation, elections have been completed smoothly.

Before the polls, the Ministry of Home Affairs had made desperate attempts to postpone elections in trouble-torn Manipur, but after the Election Commission decided to go ahead with the elections on time, the Congress party in Manipur looked like it regained lost ground against the BJP, which had fast been gaining popularity until the crisis.

However, if exit polls are to be believed, the state is heading towards a hung Assembly, as neither the BJP nor the Congress was able to win over the voter.

The 2017 assembly polls in Manipur were conducted under the shadow of the continuing economic blockade and the resultant violence in the North-Eastern state.

The BJP will look to move on from its dismal showing in the state where it failed to open its account in the 60-seat state assembly. It will be interesting to see if the BJP, using the blueprint from Assam, can finally make headway into a state, which has been ruled by the Congress for 15 years.