UP Witnesses 57% Voter Turnout in Sixth Phase of Polls

  • 49% voter turnout has been recorded till 3 PM
  • Over 1.72 crore people will cast their vote in the penultimate phase of UP elections
  • 635 candidates in the fray for 49 seats
  • Yogi Adityanath and Mukhtar Ansari among the leaders contesting elections
  • 17,926 polling booths have been set up for the voting

An estimated 49 percent voters cast their till 3 PM on Saturday in the sixth phase of Uttar Pradesh elections.

Attacking the Samajwadi Party again, Modi said he exposed the misdeeds of the Akhilesh Yadav government in his previous rally.

At the rally in Jaunpur, Modi castigated everybody who speaks against the Indian Army. Raking up the issue of surgical strikes once again, he attacked people and parties that use the the Army as a political tool.

“Those who question surgical strikes come to Jaunpur and ask the families of martyrs. Why politicise issues of national security,” Modi said.

“For 40 years our forces demanded OROP but nothing happened. I had promised that the BJP government will deliver on OROP and we did,” he further said.

Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav hold a joint roadshow during the sixth phase of the state polls.

As sixth phase polling in Uttar Pradesh is underway, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh appeared confident of a BJP majority in the state. He said,

Rajnath Singh, Union Home Minister  Not just a BJP ‘hawa’, there is a wave supporting the party in the state. Even political scientists are admitting that BJP will form the government with a majority in Uttar Pradesh.

Thousands of people from Kushinagar and Mau districts in UP cast their votes polling 30 and 27 per cent respectively, according to an Election Commission official.

Till 11 a.m., 25 per cent voting was reported from Ballia, 23 per cent from Maharajganj and Deoria, and 22 per cent from Gorakhpur.

Azamgarh, the Lok Sabha constituency of Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav recorded the lowest turnout of 21 per cent. The SP patriarch did not campaign in this constituency. Meanwhile, the second highest turnout of voters were seen in Mau where mafia don turned politician Mukhtar Ansari was fielded by the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Voter turnout in the sixth phase of UP elections 2017 recorded at 23.28 percent till 11 am.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has landed in Banaras Hindu University in Varanasi. He is scheduled to address public meetings in Jaunpur and Varanasi today. He will also offer prayers at the Kashi Vishwanath temple and the Kaal Bhairab temple shortly.

Yogi Adityanath casts his vote at booth no. 3705 in Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh.

Speaking outside the polling booth after casting his vote, he said

Yogi Adityanath, BJP MP, GorakhpurBJP will win with a heavy majority in the sixth phase of elections in UP and get a two-third majority in the state. Development and nationalism are the issues on which BJP is fighting the elections. We want everyone to benefit from development and ensure the security of every citizen. 

Police patrolling has intensified along interdistrict borders and barriers have been erected on highways to keep an eye on movements of vehicles.

The 84 km-long Indo-Nepal border has been sealed by Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) and only emergency vehicles will be allowed to cross the border, District Electoral Officer Virendra Kumar Singh said.

Cameras have also been installed on the Sonauli Indo-Nepal Border of Maharajganj district on to prevent illegal movement of people during polling.

(Photo: The Quint)

Over 1.72 crore voters will on Saturday decide the fate of 635 candidates in the fray for 49 seats in the sixth phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer T Venkatesh said 17,926 polling booths have been set up for the voting in the penultimate round in the following seven districts:

  • Mau
  • Ballia
  • Azamgarh
  • Deoria
  • Kushinagar
  • Maharajganj
  • Gorakhpur

Arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polling.

(Photo: The Quint)

In the fray in the penultimate phase are many state leaders, including BJP’s Swamy Prasad Maurya (Padrauna seat), former UP BJP chief Surya Pratap Shahi (Pathardeva), BJP's Gorakhpur MP Mahant Adityanath and Mukhtar Ansari, the don-turned-politician contesting the Mau seat from behind the bars.

Voting will also be held for the Azamgarh assembly seat. The parliamentary constituency by the same name is represented in the Lok Sabha by former state CM Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Gorakhpur has a maximum of 127 candidates for nine seats while the minimum seven are contesting Mohammadabad Gohna seat in Mau. As many as 175 Independents are also in fray.

Of the total candidates in this phase, 126 have criminal cases against them whereas 160 are millionaires.

(With PTI, IANS and ANI Inputs)