Lalu's elder son Tej Pratap Yadav wins Hasanpur by 20,000 votes

Former Bihar Chief Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav's son won the Hasanpur seat by a margin of close to 20,000 votes against Janata Dal (United) sitting MLA Raj Kumar Ray. Tej Pratap was elected from the Mahua legislative seat in 2015. However, for the 2020 polls, Pratap was in search of a safe seat since there was speculation that his former wife Aishwarya Rai may challenge him on a JD-U ticket.